Small one with an attitude - Turbinicarpus Viereckii

Look at this guy!
All armed like if there was some danger coming. And it is just me :D

Turbinicarpus Viereckii 3.jpg

I received it as a very young seedling. I kept it at home for the first year and only later put it outside on the balcony, but still protecting it from too much hot sun.
Starting from a small peanut size ball with tiny and soft spines I did not know it will have those long, black spines! I love how they look and that they are all pointing up. Such a cool plant.

Turbinicarpus Viereckii 1.jpg

Turbinicarpus Viereckii 5.jpg

Turbinicarpus Viereckii 2.jpg

See all the fluff inside? I think he is cooking a flower for me :) The very first flower!
I think he is about 3 years old now, so it is about time. But it is still a super small cactus. Maybe 2 cm in diameter. I guess I wait and see. There might be a blooming post this year for this guy.

Is that a flower bud there?

Turbinicarpus Viereckii 6.jpg

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana
image.png
Chamaelobivia no ID
image.png
Rebutia Albiflora
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri
image.png
Gymnocalycium damsii var. tucavocense
image.png
Notocactus Ottonis

cactus banner.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency