Blooming cactus - Notocactus Ottonis

This is a surprising one.
I got it in a regular supermarket and I was sure it was a completely different type. I feel excused though since I am not expert in identifying cacti. I got it repoted and it was growing away. In the meantime I like to peak on various cactus geeks forums (there is so much to learn from other people!) and I saw someone showing one just like this one, saying it is Notocactus. That is already a hint, but I was still almost sure it is something else. Many can look and have common characteristics. The easiest way it to wait for blooms.

Few weeks back I saw some buds forming a the top. And this excluded my type straight away. I started to look for the Notocactus and I think this time I got it right!
Ladies and Gents...
I present you,

Notocactus Ottonis


Notocactus Ottonis flower 10.jpg

A few facts: Native to South Brazil, Uruguay, North-east Argentina and South Paraguay and is also often called Parodia Ottonis. A round cactus that can grow ofshoots from the base creating nice little colonies. It is fast growing specie and apparently an easy growing one too. It blooms in summer and as many cacti needs colder winter rest.

I gotta agree with all that. It was one f the cacti that I decided to leave outside in more open space. It was getting a bit more rain than the other ones and I saw it growing really fast!
Then in spring the buds started to emerge and they were getting bigger and bigger like balloons! The wait was finally over when one day two freaking gigantic flowers opened. In the same time!
Holy molly that was just a view of the day!

Notocactus Ottonis flower 8.jpg

The cactus look quite common, so lets just focus on the flowers. The buds are very hairy and covered in tiny spines too. Petals are bright yellow and seem translucent. Almost as if they were cut out of a foil that reflects the light. And the flower is the size of an apple which makes it the biggest cactus bloom I currently own.

And then you look inside and there is that intense, blood red stigma.
I start to get why all the cactus geeks are crazy about this cactus genus. From what I saw they all have stunning, big flowers in various colours.

Notocactus Ottonis flower 9.jpg

Notocactus Ottonis flower 1.jpg

Notocactus Ottonis flower 2.jpg

Notocactus Ottonis flower 3.jpg

Notocactus Ottonis flower 4.jpg

Notocactus Ottonis flower 6.jpg

And now I searched in my memory and I just remembered that this is the second Notocactus that I have bought mature plant and the second that bloomed for me. The previous one was also stunning and huge, but right after it died.
I really hope I don't kill this one :p

Notocactus Ottonis flower 7.jpg

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana
image.png
Chamaelobivia no ID
image.png
Rebutia Albiflora

cactus banner.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency