The ugly duckling

I didn't like this cactus at the beginning. And I didn't buy it just because. It was growing in one pot with another succulent that I really wanted. So there... I got them both.
It wasn't looking nice. Messy, dehydrated and lots of little offshoots were dead as I found out later when I repoted it. Now it grows in a nice clay pot and it is hard not to like it. With all the very dark copper spines and tiny creamy flowers. It's just so cute :)

Mammillaria Copper King



mammillaria copper king flower macro 2.jpg

mammillaria copper king flower macro 1.jpg

I managed to shoot all 5 cacti blooming in the same time. That doesn't happen often. Usually when one starts to open the flowers, the other one is already fading.
What you see here is one Rabutia in the biggest pot, and 4 Mammillarias. The smallest fluffy one has such tiny, pale pink flowers you probably can't see them much. Here is a link to a post were I did show them better.

cactus group flowers.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/9, 1/400, ISO100)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency