Little spiky bloomer.

This Mammillaria is painful. Very painful! It's one of those supermarket ones that come with no id and when I tried to repot it we were both victims. She lots some thorns.. and I could find them in my fingers.
Now that it has a new pot and proper soil I wont have to do for the next few years I hope.

mammillaria red spines pink flowers 3.jpg

Few days ago she started to open first flowers. First it was just one, now it is two. Still some buds waiting to open, but they might take their time. I wish I could all of them flowering in the same time. A little circle around the plant. So typical for mammillarias.

mammillaria red spines pink flowers 5.jpg

mammillaria red spines pink flowers 2.jpg

And this is the whole plant. Not very big and it still shrunk during the winter. I think the thorns got stiffer too and don't seem to hurt as much as when I just got it. It was all pumped by the nurseries just to grow fast and sell.

Yes, I sprayed it. And it looked so pretty I had to take the photos when it's wet.
It is time for the cacti to slowly wake up and I start to gently stay them with water so they start absorbing it. I will not water just yet. The nights are still a bit cold and if the soil stays wet too long (they don't drink water when they are sleeping and it is not warm enough to evaporate fast), they will rot. And we do not want that!

mammillaria red spines pink flowers 1.jpg

mammillaria red spines pink flowers 4.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(f/9, 1/640, 105mm, ISO160)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Your posts need some push? Join @Qurator for extra exposure.

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency