Blooming cactus - Rebutia Albiflora

I have this little one with me for about two years now, but this is the very first time I see the flower. One flower!
Last year I saw more buds forming, but I wasn't home when it bloomed and I completely missed it. I am so glad I didn't kill it in that time. I planted some cacti in those cute little clay pots, but most totally hated it! I had to change it this year. I kept this one as it seemed to grow well in it, but I probably will swap it too. I love clay, but clay hates me and my climate.

Rebutia Albiflora


Rebutia Albiflora flower 1.jpg

This cactus is native to Bolivia and likes slightly shaded conditions. My one gets some early morning and a bit of afternoon sun and that seems fine. It is a very small cactus that will spread like a carpeet with time. Each of those little balls is maybe 1cm in diameter and each one of them produces new ones each year. So yea.. I will have to put it in bigger pot next year and maybe split. This is 3 or 4 plants right there growing all together.

The spines are very soft and flexible and do no harm, though might look a bit nasty. It is actually quite pleasant to the touch and and since they grow so close to each other it's nice to just pet it a bit (am I the only weirdo petting cacti?).

Rebutia Albiflora 1.jpg

Rebutia Albiflora 2.jpg

The flower is also quite small. But if you imagine the plant spreading more and more and growing more and more flowers... it is quite a stunning view! Google it :)

I though the flower will be completely white, but I see that the petals have some little pink stripes to it. Not all petals, just some. Quite adorable so I don't mind.

Rebutia Albiflora flower 2.jpg

Rebutia Albiflora flower 4.jpg

Rebutia Albiflora flower 5.jpg

I heard that this cactus is impossible to grow from seed. The only way to propagate it from from the cuttings and diving the bigger clumps. That explains the rapid growth of new shoots. I could probably split it every years and each time double or tipple the amount.

Rebutia Albiflora flower 3.jpg

Rebutia Albiflora flower 6.jpg

I really like it.
But Suzi was obviously not impressed with the flower.

Suzi rebutia albiflora bored.jpg

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana
image.png
Chamaelobivia no ID

cactus banner.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency