Blooming cactus - Gymnocalycium Friedrichii

Last one, for now, of my blooming Gymnocalyciums. I don't see any buds on the other ones (there is 4 more) so I guess there will be no flowers. Unless they decide to surprise me later on and grow some in the fall. Yep - they can do that too. Few days back I was showing you smaller pink G. damsii and white G. anisitsii

Gymnocalycium Friedrichii


Gymnocalycium Friedrichii 2.jpg

It is also called Gymnocalycium stenopleurum, but I read that this one can have white flowers. Friedrichii is reserved for the pink flowered version.
It is native to Paraguay and normally grows on savanna among shrubs. It likes bright light, but not so much direct light. I didn't notice any change in colour in the body if I keep it more shaded or more in sunny spot - it is always so lovely and red. Usually cacti change colour due to stress. I guess this one is like that, even though I saw online that they can be more green and have the stripes more visible too.

It is a solitary cactus, which means it is less likely it will produce an offshoot. The more possible way for me to propagate it is though seeds. I actually tried to cross-pollinate it with the white anisitsii, but it didn't work. Both dropped their flowers and there was no sign of a fruit. I am not sure if it can be self pollinated, or needs another plant for it (if so I am screwed since I have only one).

Gymnocalycium Friedrichii collage.jpg

Gymnocalycium Friedrichii 6.jpg

The flowers are so pretty! Light pink, with darker tips and almost purple bottom petals. Stunning colour combination! I didn't notice any fragrance on this one though.

Delicate blooms, need good protection ;)
The weapons:

Gymnocalycium Friedrichii 3.jpg

Gymnocalycium Friedrichii 4.jpg

I took both pink ones and shot them together. They both just opened their first flower and had one more bud to come (the little one (G. damsii) is actually growing another, late flower now).

Gymnocalycium Friedrichii 5.jpg

Gymnocalycium Friedrichii 1.jpg

Two days later the second bud started to open before the first one faded. Oh yes.. that is what I was waiting for!
A grand finale :)

Gymnocalycium Friedrichii 7.jpg

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana
image.png
Chamaelobivia no ID
image.png
Rebutia Albiflora
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri
image.png
Gymnocalycium damsii var. tucavocense
image.png
Notocactus Ottonis

cactus banner.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency