Share Our World: Day 5-Hungry Horse Reservoir and Dam

In my post Share My World: Day 5-Hidden Lake Overlook Hike @hempy made a comment that got me to thinking.

Share our world. I like that for a series name. I feel like by seeing others posts I am getting to see the world through their lens and perspective. For this series I get to share our world, a small little section that I am able to visit, photograph and write about it.

Today, I am sharing another little piece of Montana and the
Hungry Horse reservoir and Dam.

The reservoir is "is 34 miles long and has about 170 miles of shoreline." source
It is enormous.

Here is a great map of the reservoir.

Day 2 Kayaking Hungry Horse Reservoir


This time we were on top of the dam.

Able to look out to the water and below to the generating plant.


The dam is 564 feet (172 m) high and was completed in 1953. It is a source of hydroelectric power which "in an average year the release water will generate about 4.6 billion kilowatt–hours of power as it passes through the series of downstream powerplants" source


It was fun to be so high, on the dam, to get this shot.

A fun afternoon excursion.

Share My World Series

2020
Share My World: Crater Lake in the snow
Share My World: Snowmobiling in Winter Park, Colorado
Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19
All the posts for April Trip to Utah
All the posts for Favorites of May Southern Utah Trip

Glacier National Park, Montana Trip
Share My World: Day 1- Going to the Sun Road
Share My World: Day 2- Trail of Cedars Nature Trail Hike
Share My World: Day 2 Avalanche Lake Hike
Share My World: Day 2 Kayaking Hungry Horse Reservoir
Share My World: Day 3 Bowman Lake
Share My World: Day 4- Going to the Sun Road

All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency