Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19

It is been a month since I shared my thoughts about the COVID19 pandemic and what is happening in Arizona and in my life.

My last post Times of change and uncertainty was on March 13, 2020 with the expectation that President Trump was to announce an national emergency (The act allows the president access to tens of billions of dollars to stop an emergency situation that would have otherwise been spent differently.) that day. He did.

Today, April 14, 2020, a month later all states are now under a disaster declaration (emergency situation exceeds their response capabilities).

What has this past month looked like for me?

A lot of walks

At this beautiful Red Mountain park, the Mesa Cemetery, other parks and neighborhoods. I am so grateful that while we are social distancing here in Arizona that being out of our homes and exercising has been allowed. I still have the goal to walk 2 miles every day.


Red Mountain Park

Working from home


Staff meeting via Zoom

My job as an academic advisor is to meet with students and help them be successful during their time in college. I am so grateful that this can be done from home and I am still meeting with students on the phone, via Zoom and of course answering emails.

ASU sends us Risk Alerts: United States

March 26th- Restricted international flights
March 29th- Social distancing implemented
March 30th- Stay at home order

Today's (April 14th) email Risk Alert- Level 4- Disaster Declaration

They also send information about the university specifically.

March 16th- Classes moved online
April 2nd- Graduation moved online.

The class of 2020 will have a YouTube graduation! This is hard from some students, they have been thinking and expecting a big graduation for years. They and their families are also invited to attend an upcoming in person graduation if they would like. I personally think they are going to look back at their senior year with great recollection and be able to talk about how they graduated during the COVID19 outbreak and it was on YouTube.

Part of my responsibility this month is to call 100 students of the 7,000 students in the Honors college as part of a effort to reach out to see how the students are doing with the current situation. Most have said that they are getting used to online classes and things are ok.


Cancelled and Postponed Travels

On April 9-11th I was supposed to be in San Fransicso, Oakland and Berkely visiting Brigitte Nicoletti, Kelly Zeh and Matt Knouse. That trip was cancelled and I will wait with everyone else to see when I will be able to start traveling again.

Connecting

With the social distancing and limited physical contact with others I have had a lot more connection with friends and family via phone, email, text, What's app and Marco Polo.

I am so grateful for the technology that allows me to see and talk with my friends!


Church

While I still worship at home I am missing the social part of going to church and seeing my dear friends. There have been major changes happening for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints too.


March 12th- All church meetings suspended worldwide
March 16th- Adjustment to missionary service started
March 25th- Temples close
March 29th- World wide fast for relief from COVID-19
April 4-5- General conference with limited people in attendance and the Tabernacle Choir was pre-recorded
April 10th- World wide fast for relief from COVID-19

Arizona numbers

April 4th- 54 Deaths
April 10th- 3,393 confirmed cases

United States numbers

April 13th- 23,644 Deaths
April 13th- 526, 644 Active Cases

Another Risk Alert for today April 14th

It is a time of great uncertainty and change.

I don't know anyone that is sick and my day to day has changed but not drastically. For me, it still feels like this is an enemy that is far away. I am doing my best to keep myself and others safe by practicing social distancing and doing my daily meditation, yoga, walks and keep connected to those I love. I will take it one day at a time.

I have also seen and felt a lot of love and connection during this time.

I am glad to be able to share and record here what is happening with COVID19 for me. I know that someday we will pass through this affliction and I want to remember what was happening and how I felt. I also enjoy hearing what is happening in other parts of the world through people's personal stories on their blogs.

Share My World Series

2020
Share My World: Crater Lake in the snow
Share My World: Snowmobiling in Winter Park, Colorado

All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency