Kids, don't do this at home.

As every morning I got my coffee and camera ready and I went to look out on the balcony to see what new (not that there is much happening every day, but gotta do something on this lockdown). And of course some cacti keep having flowers, some grow their buds nicely. Some are small and I check on them too if they are healthy and have no bugs.

And then I looked at this one. Every so often I lift them to have a closer look.
Looks good, all green, new spines are popping... Awesome! I always wanted on of those Mammillarias (google images here so you know how pretty they are)

dead mammillaria.jpg

Something made me look to the base.. something dark was there. I though it was some dead leaf so I tried to remove it....

And then this happened!!

dead mammillaria 2.jpg

dead mammillaria 3.jpg

The poor thing did not handle the recent rains well. Looked good in the outside, inside it completely rotted off. Roots rotted off. If I noticed it earlier I could have saved it.
I cleaned the top part and will leave it to dry. I don't think there is a chance of saving it, but I will wait and see. Not all is always

I had only one like that.
Grown from seed.
2 years old.

Shite...

Here are some other cacti that did manage to bloom:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum

Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii

cactus banner.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency