Art Talk: Hirshorn Museum

While in DC in April 2022 I went to the Hirshorn Museum. It is the modern art museum that is on the National Mall. I think I had gone to it once before in the 20 years I have been going to DC.

The Hirshorn Museum is a circular building much like the Guggenheim and it has different artists showing for set periods of time.

While I was there I saw Yayoi Kusama, Laurie Anderson, Mark Bradford, Nicholas Party and Marcel Duchamp.


Taken while waiting in line for Yayoi Kusama tickets

I much prefer the art in the National Gallery and go there every time I go to DC. I do love the Hirshorn Sculpture Garden and usually go there when I am visiting the National Gallery as they are very close to each other.

Yayoi Kusama

The main reason I went to the Hirshorn during this visit to DC was to see Yayoi Kusama. I learned about her through Great Art Explained. Which just hit 1 million subscribers! It is a fantastic YouTube channel about art and art history. The night before, during dinner with my friend, I learned that she was at the Hirshorn and I really wanted to see her infinity mirrors.



Yayoi Kusama
Pumpkin, 2016
Hirshorn Gallery, Washington, DC

Phallis Field
My Heart is Dancing into the Universe

As you can see from each of these pieces she is obsessed with the Polka Dot. For more about her I did a artist highlight of Yayoi Kusama.

Laurie Anderson

I came upon her exhibit on the second floor galleries. Here are some of her painting. The black and white painting that was over the entire room was really interesting.


I also liked these paintings


And these aluminum and light pieces were very interesting.

Mark Bradford

His exhibition was called Pickett's Charge and covered the walls of the whole floor. Layers mixed media. Very interesting and I walked the whole floor seeing the changes in the colors and textures.

Marcel Duchamp

Duchamp is a French painter and this exhibition was the collection of Barbara and Aaron Levine. I remember thinking how is this toilet art? Here are some of the pieces in the collection

Yvonne Duchamp StandingSelf portrait in profileL.H.O.O.Q.

Nicholas Party

Party's art is hanging on the museum itself. It is called Draw the Curtain.

What do you think of modern art? About these artists? It was a grea visit to the Hirshorn Museum.

Sources:
Hirshorn Muesum

Art Talk Series Highlights

2022
Theme: Artists
Art Talk: Frank Lloyd Wright
Art Talk: Yoyoi Kusama
Art Talk: Heloise Crista
Art Talk: Chihuly on Paper
Art Talk: Etel Adnan
Art Talk: Vasily Kandinsky

Other
Art Talk: Stained Glass Windows at the National Cathedral
ICM at the DBG

Art Talk: 2021 Posts
Art Talk: 2020 Posts
Art Talk: 2019 Posts
Art Talk: 2018 Posts

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency