Art Talk: The Guggenheim

The Guggenheim is such interesting museum designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and I have been wanting to go for years. Because the MET is one of my favorite places (not just one of my favorite museums, it is one of my favorite places) I always go there when I am in New York City and have missed out on the Guggenheim and MOMA. This year I finally made it to the Guggenheim.


Look at that ceiling!

I heard about how you can go to the top and work your way down viewing the art on each level. That is what Jodi and I did. There were two artists on exhibition Vasily Kandinsky and Etel Adnan and then off in another part of the museum was where the permanent pieces.

Kandinsky

Vasily Kandinsky was born in Russia in 1866 and died in 1944 in France. He studied law and economics at the University of Moscow. He left this profession to study art in Germany. He is considered one of the pioneers of abstract art. 1


I liked Kandinsky's art. It was unique and sometimes very playful and beautiful with lots of vibrant colors and great lines.

I will do a more details post about him and his work in the future.

Adnan

I had never heard of Etel Adnan before seeing her work at the Guggenheim. She is a Lebanese-American poet and artist that was born in Beirut, Lebanon in 1925. I also found out from my research that she died about a month ago, November 14, 2021 in Paris, France. 2 That was a month after I saw her work.


Some of her work was interesting. Most of it looked very elementary especially after seeing the skill of Kandinsky. I found this great video which helped me understand her better.

Permanent Collection

This is were I got excited. I got to see pieces that I had never seen before by artists that I knew so well.

Pablo Picasso


Paul Cezanne


Vincent van Gogh


Renior, Degas, Gouguin and Pissaro

Henri Rousseau
I know little about Rousseau. I really had no idea who did the painting and was intrigued by its very playful subject matter too.

The Guggenheim Museum

The museum was established in 1939 by Solomon R Guggenheim and it was his collection of old masters. In 1926 he met Hilla von Rebay, who became the museum's first director, she introduced him to European avant-garde art particularly abstract art. His collection became so big that in 1943 he asked Frank Lloyd Wright to design a building for his collection. It took Wright 15 years to create the museum. It was opened in 1959. 3

It was so fun taking pictures of the museum.

I am glad I went, it is a museum worth seeing and experiencing. I think the next time I go back it will only be because there is an artist on exhibit that I really want to see.

Personal 30 Day Challenge- Day 16

Art Talk Series Highlights

Art Talk: 2021 Posts
Art Talk: 2020 Posts
Art Talk: 2019 Posts
Art Talk: 2018 Posts

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency