Art Talk: Frank Lloyd Wright

This month's artist highlight is the brilliant architect Frank Lloyd Wright.

I have been interested in architecture since college. I still have a paper I wrote on the gothic architecture of the Salt Lake Temple in Utah. Also for 2021 Art Talk the theme was architecture.

After college I lived in Washington, DC. On a September in 2004 I decided to drive to Pennsylvania by myself and see the famous Fallingwater.

It really was stunning with the autumn trees framing it perfectly. A glorious example of organic architecture for sure. This is still one of my favorite pictures. I don't have a lot of 2004 pictures I can easily access. 😃

Wright believed in organic architecture and Fallingwater is a beautiful example.

a philosophy of architecture which promotes harmony between human habitation and the natural world. This is achieved through design approaches that aim to be sympathetic and well-integrated with a site, so buildings, furnishings, and surroundings become part of a unified, interrelated composition.


Frank Lloyd Wright
Fallingwater, 1939
Mill Run, Pennsylvania

While at Fallingwater I learned about Kentuck Knob, another of Frank Lloyd Wright's homes, a short 15 minute drive away in Dunbar, PA. The house is not as photogenetic or beautiful from the outside as Fallingwater. The inside is stunning and I still remember learning about how Wright used natural materials such as stone, wood, glass and being so impressed with that. The view from the house to the autumn trees in October was really spectacular too. I HIGHLY suggest going to Kentuck Knob if you are going to Fallingwater.



Source
Frank Lloyd Wright
Inside of Kentuck Knob, 1956
Dunbar, Pennsylvania

Frank Lloyd Wright had a very rocky home life. The saddest story I remember was of the fire and subsequent murder of 7 people at Taliesin, including his beloved Mamah. He had three wives Kitty, Miriam, and Olvinanna and 8 children.1

He was a prolific architect and created over 1000 structures in over 70 years. 1 It is estimate there are about 400 remaining. 3

In 2007 I went to Chicago and went on a Frank Lloyd Wright Architectural tour. It was so interesting to see some pretty urban houses in Oak Park, Illinois. My friend and I also went to the Robie house in southeast Chicago.

I also moved to Arizona in 2007 and started working at Arizona State University. The performing art center on campus, called Gammage Auditorium, was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.

The president of ASU in 1956 was Grady Gammage. Needing a new auditorium he asked his friend Frank Lloyd Wright to design it. 3 When I first saw it I thought "who in the world designed that building?" I would come to learn it was Wright. It is grown on me "a little" in the past 15 years. I have spent time there for freshman welcome and graduations and even saw Wicked there.

Here is a post I did a few days ago about Gammage Auditorium, if you would like to see learn more about it and see it from different angles.



Frank Lloyd Wright
Gammage Auditorium, 1964
Tempe, Arizona

In addition to being a consummate architecture he was an educator. In 1932 his wife Olviganna put out a call for students to come to Taliesin to work and study under Wright. This would become the start of Taliesin Fellowship. He taught at both Taliesin in Wisconsin and Taliesin West in Arizona.

According to Architect Magazine, "more than 1,200 students have studied at Taliesin during its 88 years, and currently 30 students are enrolled". 4



Frank Lloyd Wright
Taliesin West, 1937
Scottsdale, Arizona
Taken 2012

If you would like to learn more about Taliesin West please see my Art Talk: Taliesin West and Prairie Architecture post from last year when I highlighted the building for the Architecture and Design community



Frank Lloyd Wright
Taliesin West, 1937
Scottsdale, Arizona
Taken 2022, during Chihuly in the Desert

To see all the art pieces visit Art Talk: Chihuly at Taliesin West



Frank Lloyd Wright
Taliesin West, Garden Room, 1937
Scottsdale, Arizona
Taken 2022, during Chihuly in the Desert

Here are some shots of the studio at Taliesin West and there were blueprints, one actually being blue, of The Guggenheim on the desk in Frank's office and on the drafting tables in the studio.


I have been to New York City many, many times and in October 2021 I finally went to the Guggenheim. Here is the post I did about it. Art Talk: The Guggenheim

This modern art museum was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and opened in 1959.

A monument to modernism, the unique architecture of the space, with its spiral ramp riding to a domed skylight, continues to thrill visitors and provide a unique forum for the presentation of contemporary art. In the words of critic Paul Goldberger, “Wright’s building made it socially and culturally acceptable for an architect to design a highly expressive, intensely personal museum. In this sense almost every museum of our time is a child of the Guggenheim.” 5

I plan to go to Wisconsin eat cheese and visit Taliesin. I am sure in my travels I will also come across other Frank Lloyd Wright structures...there are many in Arizona... and I will be so happy to see them. They are truly interesting and unique.

I just finished my Art Talk: My first stained glass piece which was a Frank Lloyd Wright design.

I really like the simplicity and geometric shapes of his designs.


Sources
1- Frank Lloyd Wright Wikipedia
2- Architectural Digest
3-Gammage Wikipedia
4- School of Architecture
5- Guggenheim

Art Talk Series Highlights

2022
Theme: Artists
Art Talk: Yoyoi Kusama
Art Talk: Heloise Crista
Art Talk: Chihuly on Paper
Art Talk: Etel Adnan
Art Talk: Vasily Kandinsky

Other
Art Talk: Stained Glass Windows at the National Cathedral
ICM at the DBG

Art Talk: 2021 Posts
Art Talk: 2020 Posts
Art Talk: 2019 Posts
Art Talk: 2018 Posts

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency