4 Year Hive Birthday (2021)

Each year on my Hive "birthday" or anniversary I like to reflect on the year. It has been a really great year from me on Hive.


Wind River Range, Wyoming

Highlights of 2021

Highlights for me this year were travel blogging, Art Talk, Collections, @WednesdayWalk @Photogames Season 3 and a 30 Day Challenge.

Travel blogger

I have realized that I am a travel blogger. I always thought that would be very cool to be able to get paid for traveling and now I am! After 4 years of consistent posting I hit the "tipping point" where I am making enough to pay for my trips with the posts about the trips.

I am saving the money (Hive) I am making from my travel posts for Hive Fest. I really want to go in person and am waiting anxiously to see where in the world it will be (@roelandp). I sure hope it is in person! I have enjoyed meeting people in the VR the past two years and so glad I have been able to go.

I really enjoy adding to @Pinmapple and @Haveyoubeenhere and traveling through the posts of others all around the world.

Here are posts that represent my trips this year to New York City, Wyoming and Southern Utah, Ohio, Tucson, Arizona and Oregon.

Share Our World: Highlights of 3 Days in NYCShare Our World: Backpacking in Wyoming-- Day 3Share Our World: Canyonlands National Park Overview
Share Our World: Cincinnati ConservatoryShare Our World: The White Dove of the DesertShare Our World: Winter Wonderland

You will notice that I use "Share Our World" in my posts. I feel that while I might be the that was visiting a place at any certain time that I am sharing a view of OUR world.

Art Talk

Art Talk is still going strong. I now have yearly themes and an Art Talk community for anyone that is looking for a place to post or read about art.

My Art Talk theme for 2021 was architecture. I loved it!

I joined the awesome Architecture and Design community run by the fabulous @storiesoferne and @discoveringarni. It is a great place to learn about cool architecture from all over the world.

A few of my Architecture Art Talk posts.

Art Talk: US Capitol and Neoclassical ArchitectureArt Talk: Grace Church and Gothic Revival ArchitectureArt Talk: Mesa Temple and Colonial Revival Architecture

Collections

I also have a collection for each year of art talk posts.

2021 21 posts, Architecture
2020 35 posts, Tours of the National Gallery in DC
2019 20 posts
2018 15 posts

I am an Art Collector
I have also started collection art from artists on Hive. I have a painting of @armandosodano and photographs of @Sharker and @itchyfeetdonica and @photovisions

I have a thing for trees!

Collections

I am a HUGE fan of @peakd!
@asgarth and @jarvie are great at working to give us the best user experience. Collections are something they added this past year that I have embraced. I currently have 17 collections. They are such a great way to structure and organize some of my many (549) posts!

As I mentioned above I have collections for each year that I have been doing Art Talk. I also have a Crypto Talk collection for the posts I do about the more technical side of crypt and Hive, especially Splinterlands.

I have fun travel collections like National Parks, Glacier specifically and Arches in Southern Utah, Geology of Southern Utah, Hiking posts and the Maasai Mara in Kenya. I also have a collection of artists I have highlighted and a whole collection for just Chihuly and my favorite posts collection. I am excited to make many more.

Glacier National Park Trip 2020Best of sjarvie5--My favorite personal postsChihuly Groupie

Wednesdaywalks

One of my favorite communities I found this year is wednesdaywalk which was created by @tattoojay. It is such a treat to see people's walks all over the world.

A Collection of my Wednesday Walks

Photogames

Collections, countdown on posts and drafts are some of the great additions to @PeakD made it possible to host another round of #photogames. We played in May and it was great. I am look forward to Season 4 starting soon. Thanks @rosiew for helping!

Photogames was my first community on the blockchain and I really enjoy the competition and getting to know people through the games.

30 Day Challenge

In November @dodovietnam posted about a 30 day challenge he was doing. I thought it would be great to do it too. So I decided at the same time as @fotostef to post for 30 days straight. It was a challenge, especially since I was in Oregon for 2 weeks for the holidays. I did it and enjoyed it. @fotostef and I encouraged each other throughout the process and he is still going. Amazing!

Here is a little look into my organization for my blogging.

What Hive means to me

Wow what a great year on Hive. For me Hive is journaling, connection, and creativity.

I really do enjoy blogging and recording my thoughts, ideas, feelings and sharing my photography. It is also really hard for me to work 8 hours at a computer and then spend more time on the computer blogging. I am working to find a good balance.

It is so fun to connect with people from all over the world. @trangbaby and @dodovietnam in Vietnam, @livinguktaiwan in England, @fotostef and @traisto in Greece, @Soyrosa and @r00sj3 in the Netherlands, @delishtreats in Switzerland, @asgarth in Italy. I want to go to all these places and visit them! I am glad for the people that I got to "see" virtually at Hive Fest and really hope to meet some Hive friends in person in 2022.

I have learned that there is still so much potential for me and my ideas! I am excited for many more years blogging on Hive.

Oh and because Splinterlands is related--- I have been very busy with Splinterlands this past year with the airdrop and Chaos Legion being resleased!

4 years of stats

I wanted to understand a bit of what my Hive experience has looked like over these 4 years so I took the time to make these cool charts in Google Sheets.

This will be my 550th post. In 2018 I posted 149, 122 in 2019, 139 in 2020 and 139 in 2021.

For the first chart I took a date close to the 10th of the month over the 4 years to see the trends.

Here is a look at each year in more detail.

Archive of Yearly Posts

3 year anniversary on HIVE (Look at 2020, posted Feb. 20, 2021) I talked about Hikes, Series (Share Our World and Art Talk), Community (Dinner, Packages and HiveFest) and COVID19 (Monthly Updates)

My 2019 Steem Journey. Since the end of the year and my Hive birthday are so close to each other this was my look at 2019 and what I learned.

My Year Journey on Steem (A look at 2018, posted Feb. 10. 2019)
I talked about playing #photogames and #Steemmonsters (which is now #Splinterlands) making the #Arttalk and #Sharemyworld series.

Introducing myself (My first post, Feb. 10, 2018) I introduced myself with travel, plants, garden and art. Those are still major themes in my posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
76 Comments
Ecency