Share Our World: Cincinnati Art Museum

In October I went to Cincinnati for a work conference and spent some time exploring the city, especially the museums and gardens (Cincinnati Conservatory).

Wow, I was so impressed with the Cincinnati Art Museum!

The Cincinnati Art Museum is in the Eden Park area of Cincinnati close to the conservatory. It is free to the public thanks to the generous donation from the Rosenthal Foundation. That was a pleasant surprise.

It was founded in 1881 and 73 permanent collection galleries.

Its collection of over 67,000 works spanning 6,000 years of human history make it one of the most comprehensive collections in the Midwest.

Outside

I wandered around the outside first. There are some great sculptures, plants and a nice view of the city.

This post will be a general look at the museum. Later I will do a post for Art Talk and do a more in depth tour of the museum.

Sculpture

Beautiful sculpture inside. I think having a dad that was a bronze artist really gave me an enjoyment and interest in sculpture.


Deborah Butterfield, Horse No. 1, 1983

These are fascinating life size horses made out of found objects.

The first time I saw a Deborah Butterfield horse was when I was visiting Sandford Campus in California.


Deborah Butterfield, Viktoria,1999


Modern Art

I saw a Andy Worhol in person! There were also pieces by Piccaso, Rothko and Chagall.

Impressionist

Impressionism is one of my favorite times in art history. I got to see "new" landscapes from Renior, Pissaro and Monet.

Post impressionism

Paintings from Van Gogh, Cezanne and Matisee caught my attention in this area.


Inside the museum

Here is a look at the inside of the museum, including a Chihuly! It is a beautiful building.


American Art

I got to see favorites like John Singleton Copley, Charles Wilson Peale and Albert Bierstadt, Edward Hopper and William Merritt Chase.


Antiquities

I really enjoyed this small antiquities sections with some great Egyptian and Greek art.

Special Hall

I was impressed with this hall as it had both a mural of Miro and a Calder Mobile

Here is another hall with a fun mural by Saul Stienberg called Mural of Cincinnati.

Native American Art

There is a special section with Native American Art that I explored a little bit.

Glass

Chilhuly and Tiffany are two of my favorite glass artists and here are a couple of vases and a Memorial window by Tiffany Glass & Decorating Co. and Tiffany Studios.

As with most museums there is so much to see and usually not enough time to see it. I hope you enjoyed this general look the Cincinnati Art Museum with me.

In the future, I plan to take you on a tour and highlight certain pieces, giving more background and information. That is where I find the most enjoyment with art and museums is knowing more about the art and artists!

Sources:
Cincinnati Art Museum
Deborah Butterfield

Share Our World Series
2021

Wyoming
Share Our World: String Lake, Wyoming
Share Our World: Jenny Lake, Wyoming
Share Our World: Discovery Trail at Jenny Lake
Share Our World: Hidden Falls and Inspiration point Hikes
Share Our World: Camping in the Tetons
Share Our World: Teton Loop

Utah
Share Our World: Capitol Reef National Park Overview
Share Our World: Fluted Wall, Capitol Reef NP
Share Our World: Fruita School Capital Reef NP
Share Our World: Grand Wash Hike-- with rating
Share Our World: Sunset drive in Capitol Reef
Share Our World: Capitol Reef Scenic Drive
Share Our World: Wild Horse Slot Canyon Hike

Other
Share Our World: Sabino Canyon
Share Our World: Agave Garden
Share Our World: Saguaro National Park
Share Our World: Arizona- Sonora Desert Museum
Share Our World: Cactus Garden
Share Our World: The White Dove of the Desert
Share Our World: Mayo Clinic Nature Trail
Share Our World: Desert Botanical Garden in Phoenix, Arizona
Share Our World: Desert Botanical Garden in 1.4

All the 2020 posts are here 3 year anniversary on HIVE
All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency