Art Talk: I am a Chihuly Groupie

You might be wondering what a Chihuly is. I will tell you... he, Dale Chihuly, is a fabulous glass artist. I adore his work and have decided that I am a Chihuly groupie, meaning that each year I will be going to see his exhibitions at different botanical gardens around the US and world.

My introduction to Chihuly was in 2006. I was living in DC and a group of friends took a road trip to Columbus, Ohio to watch BYU (my alma mater) play volleyball and during the trip we decided to go to the Columbus Botanical garden. I was amazed at the Chihuly exhibition and I have been a fan ever since.


Fiori: A Chihuly Garden of Glass, 2006
Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Gardens
Columbus, Ohio


In 2007 I moved from DC to Arizona and the next year there was a Chihuly exhibit at the local botanical garden that I have been a member of since 2010.

Chihuly: The Nature of Glass, 2008
Desert Botanical Garden
Phoenix, Arizona



The Desert Towers, 2008



Chihuly came back to Arizona in 2012 and I went to the exhibit many times.

Chihuly in the Garden, 2012
Desert Botanical Garden
Phoenix, Arizona

In addition to be a great glass artist he is wonderful painter too!


2016 is the year I made my groupie status official.

Chihuly in the Garden, 2016
Atlanta Botanical Garden
Atlanta, Georgia

My dad died and didn't make it on the trip I had planned for work and to see Chihuly in Georgia.


Chihuly at New York Botanical Garden, 2017
New York Botanical Garden
Bronx, New York

One of my very favorite thing about Chihuly is that I get to see the glass in amazing gardens!

My friends Sarah and Ashley joined me for this trip


Chihuly at Biltmore, 2018
Biltmore
Asheville, North Carolina
Seriously considered and didn't make it to Asheville.

Chihuly: Reflections on nature, 2019
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
London, United Kingdom

My brother and sister and I did a family history trip to England and Scotland in May 2019. When I saw that Chihuly was at the Kew Gardens I talked them into stopping at the garden. It was amazing and I think there are now two more Chihuly fans.

Art Talk: Chihuly at Kew Gardens

Oklahoma City Museum of Art, 2019

This was a huge surprise. I went to visit my friend in Oklahoma and as I was getting on the plane I said something to another passenger and asked if she was from Oklahoma, she said yes and if it was my first time going, that I should go to the Museum of Art and see the Chihuly there. What?? How did she know I was a Chihuly fan!?!?!?

The glass ceiling tunnel was fabulous

and so were his macchias

the tower at the entrance was stunning

This is the first time I saw Puttis

The boats are some of my favorites!

Ikebana
Painting

This museum really had a great collection.

Art Talk: Chihuly at the Oklahoma City Museum of Art

Chihuly at Cheekwood, 2020
Cheekwood Estate and Gardens
Nashville, Tennessee

This year I went to Nashville to see Chihuly. It was my first time in Tennessee.

Scarlet and Yellow Icicle Tower and Fiori Boat

Blue Polyvitro Crystals
White Beluga

Rotolo 92, 2015
Macchias


Black Basket Set with Cerise Lip Wraps, 2008



Venetian Drawings, 1988-1990

Mayan Gold IkebanaSilver FrostSilvery Duet


Cattails and Copper Birch Reeds

My friend Sara joined me and we had a great weekend enjoying the city, the garden and of course the glass!

Share Our World: Cheekwood Estate and Gardens
Art Talk: Chihuly at Cheekwood Estate and Garden

Where will I see Chihuly next?


Art Talk Series Highlights

2020
Art Talk: Recycled Plastic Art Movement
Art Talk: Gates of Paradise
Art Talk: Sunrise as abstract art

March- Italian Renaissance
Art Talk: NGA Italian Renaissance Tour
Art Talk: Raphael
Art Talk: Venus
Art Talk: Egg Tempera
Art Talk: Guest Blogger, @laurabellamy

April- French Impressionism
Art Talk: NGA French Impressionism Tour
Art Talk: Fredric Bazille
Art Talk: The Mother and Sister of the Artist
Art Talk: En plein air

May- Hudson River School
Art Talk: NGA Hudson River School Tour
Art Talk: Albert Bierstadt
Art Talk: The Voyage of Life
Art Talk: Romanticism & Nature & Hudson River School

June-Andrew Mellon and the Hermitage
Art Talk: NGA Andrew Mellon and the Hermitage Tour
Art Talk: Rembrandt
Art Talk: The Annunciation
Art Talk: Provenance

July-Portraiture
Art Talk: NGA Portrait Tour
Art Talk: Rembrandt Peale
Art Talk: Portrait of My Grandmother

October- NGA Highlights
Art Talk: NGA Highlights tour
Art Talk: Artist highlight
Art Talk: Ginevra de’ Benci

November- Dale Chihuly
Art Talk: Chihuly at Cheekwood Estate and Garden
Art Talk: Artist Dale Chihuly
Art Talk: Guest Blogger: Frankie O'Neill

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency