Art Talk: Chihuly at Cheekwood Estate and Garden

At the end of October I traveled to Nashville, Tennessee to see Chihuly at Cheekwood.
It was amazing! Dale Chihuly is a world famous glass artist. I am a declared Chihuly groupie, which means that I travel to see his exhibitions around the United States and world.

Chihuly is famous for his placement of his glass art in garden settings. As you will see below it is truly spectacular. Especially for a person like me, that loves gardens!


Summer Sun, 2010, 15½ x 13 x 13'

This is the first piece that visitors see upon entering the garden and it is stunning!
It is made up of 1,483 separate pieces.


Gilded Yellow and Plum Tower, 2019, 15 x 7 x 7'

When I saw this piece I thought it was one of his older works because the colors were so muted. In fact it is one of his most recent pieces.



Cattails and Copper Birch Reeds

These were my favorite pieces in the garden. The colors and the shapes were so stunning that I kept wanting to go back again and again.


Scarlet and Yellow Icicle Tower

This might be my second favorite. It is very tall and is made up of 1,882 separate elements. You can see that I took a picture of it from many different angles. I had a discussion with my friend Sara about what angle Chihuly first thought this piece should go into that spot.

On of the things I really like is that Dale Chihuly goes to the gardens and really things about the placement of the pieces.



Red Reeds

I think this piece would have been more impressive during the night with lights on it.


Float Boat, 2019, 3 x 14 x 4'

I do love the boats!
The glass spheres inside of all different sizes and colors is great, even from a distance.



Turquoise Marlins and Neodymium Reeds and Niijima Floats

Sara's favorite color is purple and so this was her favorite!


Fiori Boat

As I mentioned earlier, I really like the boats. There are so many great shapes and colors in them. It is a feast for the eyes.

Torchlight Quadpod ChandelierWhite BelugaBlue Polyvitro Crystals


Sapphire Star

This was Sara's favorite!

You can see the Historic Mansion and Museum in the background. The remaining pieces were all inside the mansion.


Golden Amber Persian Chandelier

Oh I do really of the Persians too!

Sketches and Paintings

Mayan Gold Ikebana Drawing, 2008Seafoam/Basket Drawing, 1982Silver Frost, $3,310


Black Basket Set with Cerise Lip Wraps, 2008


Macchias- my favorites!

Rotolo 92, 2015
Rotolo 76, 2019

It was truly spectacular. This was my 7th time seeing a Chihuly exhibit and there were new pieces that I didn't know about like the Rotolos above. Even if the piece is familiar the location and time of day change how the glass is seen and it is always a wonderful treat!

Sources:
BBC News- Glass sculptures invite reflection at Kew Gardens
Chihuly.com- Chihuly at Cheekwood

Art Talk Series Highlights

2020
Art Talk: Recycled Plastic Art Movement
Art Talk: Gates of Paradise

March- Italian Renaissance
Art Talk: NGA Italian Renaissance Tour
Art Talk: Raphael
Art Talk: Venus
Art Talk: Egg Tempera
Art Talk: Guest Blogger, @laurabellamy

April- French Impressionism
Art Talk: NGA French Impressionism Tour
Art Talk: Fredric Bazille
Art Talk: The Mother and Sister of the Artist
Art Talk: En plein air

May- Hudson River School
Art Talk: NGA Hudson River School Tour
Art Talk: Albert Bierstadt
Art Talk: The Voyage of Life
Art Talk: Romanticism & Nature & Hudson River School

June-Andrew Mellon and the Hermitage
Art Talk: NGA Andrew Mellon and the Hermitage Tour
Art Talk: Rembrandt
Art Talk: The Annunciation
Art Talk: Provenance

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency