The InkWell Writing Challenge | Rustic Dawn

Week 8 of Season Two Writing Challenge

tianjin2185510_1280.jpg
Image by 畅 苏 from Pixabay


Prequel to Blood and Bronze

Series Title: Sanguine and Steel

Week #1: Lifeblood
Week #2: Metal Enhanced
Week #3: Crimson Shutters
Week #4: Cold As Steel
Week #5: Blood Rush
Week #6: Magnetic Awakening
Week #7: Rogue to Spare

Having spent time in the world outside the four corners of the facility where I was created, I've grown to appreciate the barrage of stimuli to my senses-- the scent of chamomile that I've now associated with my Mistress, the breathy sighs she emits whenever I am allowed the privilege to sink into her soft, willing flesh, her sweet kisses which were oftentimes laced with the tang of blood...

But what I really love the most were her twilight eyes as they reflected her moods-- the way they were dusky now, conveyed she was lost in thought as she stared out the windows that overlooked the city below.

“Mistress...”

I leaned down closer to her as I spoke, catching a whiff of that floral scent that seemed to surround her. I seemed to have won her attention this time as I caught the slight shudder that flowed through her petite form just as she closed her eyes and let out a sigh of exasperation.

“Ely. You know how I refuse to respond to that title you bestowed on me, don't you?”

Ah yes, we have gone over this habit of mine time and again. Although I must admit it adds a certain tension to our lovemaking.

“Forgive me mis-- ah, Kiera, I only worry your drink will grow cold..” I finally acquiesced, choosing to keep that tidbit of information to myself.

Kiera now turned her attention to me, reaching out a hand to caress my cheek, slowly trailing it down towards the bronze prosthetic that made up my forearm. Kiera, she wasn't just good at taking care of me, she also made me feel.. certain emotions I never thought I was capable of...

Not wanting to be distracted by her effortless form of seduction, I instead took her wandering fingers in my own, leading her towards the kitchen isle where I had placed her.. sustenance.

“Blood is blood, whether it's warm or not Ely.”

I spied the small smile that graced her sweet lips just before I tried to distract myself by tidying up the blood bags that need to be stored, I found myself stalling in my actions though as I remembered the conversation I unwittingly overheard of Kiera with Leonardo...

No time cara mia.” I sensed the tenseness in Kiera's stance as my sense of hearing caught the unmistakable tone of Leonardo's voice through the phone. “This time they went too far... a vaccine-- Lethal to us--!

Leo! Just tell me where you are so I can help--

Just lay low, Kiera.The line was turning static now as Leonardo tried to convey more of his message, “Keep that brother of yours out of trouble--- I'm sorry--- 'bout your grampapi--

What are you saying--?? Leonardo??!!

The line had long gone dead and that night, I held Kiera, shaking in my arms as she learned from Vlad of her grandfather's demise. Something in the humans' blood had become deadly to the very beings that used it for their survival.

“That is... going to be a problem soon. The source of blood.”

I looked up from the blood bag I held to meet Kiera's eyes but she quickly looked away, staring intently at the red liquid inside her mug, seemingly lost to her thoughts again before she decided to speak,

“Man decided to become something he is not. The gods will die and it will only be a matter of us outliving them.”

Letting her words sink in, I couldn’t help the flash of my own memory that followed, whispering like a dream…

You need to come back ONLY when the time is right!

Dr. D, I don't understand--!

Being right is a lonely place...” she slowly held out a bloody hand to my cheek as she said her final words to me, “...May you be the salvation humanity deserves, Ely.

Returning my focus on the blood bag I still held in my prosthetic arm, I found myself wondering if there was any perfect time in doing what was right, for if I risked staying in this blissful ignorance too long, I may end up being humanity’s damnation instead…



My books are now available:

neverbother.jpg

Never Bother

image.png

Don't You Cry No More


DYCNM Book cover design by @viking-ventures
More credits: Commissioned Cover 1, part 3 - Viking Visual Art Tutorial
NB Book cover design by @ilovewintergem


I'm on HIVE 'coz of:

My main affiliate program ===> ClickTrackProfit

Documenting my life's journey:

My main blog ===> Fresh Start

I started a series since October 2018...

'Coz I like Tumblr ===> I Am Raincrystal

Follow my channel on LBRY ===> @lifeingeneral

BTC address: 3Nu6g6pRbypgASwgEBJaMyUzWKQnzYEkKY

XRP address: rU2mEJSLqBRkYLVTv55rFTgQajkLTnT6mA

(Destination tag: 413584)




presearch



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency