The InkWell Writing Challenge | Rogue to Spare

Week 7 of Season Two Writing Challenge

clouds2517653_1280.jpg
Image by carloyuen from Pixabay


Prequel to Blood and Bronze

Series Title: Sanguine and Steel

Week #1: Lifeblood
Week #2: Metal Enhanced
Week #3: Crimson Shutters
Week #4: Cold As Steel
Week #5: Blood Rush
Week #6: Magnetic Awakening

Sleep was a luxury I sometimes took advantage of; in between dreams, I could forget I had too much time in my hands-- a lifetime ahead of me... But my thirst always pulled me back-- it was the slight prickle in my throat, the imminent burning craving, that forced me out of my bed.

Opening my eyes to darkness, I first noticed the absence of Ely beside me. It was odd, how he had insisted to stay by my side while I slept, and it surprised me how I took comfort in his constant presence. Although, I could fool myself into believing it was only because I hadn't been much intimate in a long while, and Ely was proving to be more of a man than I first thought. At least, on the outside anyway.

Making my way barefoot outside my room, I stopped just as I turned the corner towards the pantry. There by the windows that made up at least one side of my apartment, I watched Ely as he stood to stare out at the many humans that went on with their lives from below.

I found myself rooted to the spot where I stood as my eyes roved over the bare shoulders of his broad back, the night lights from the city outside almost casting him in an otherworldly glow. He really turned out to be quite the specimen.

As if sensing my heated gaze on him, Ely's almost whispered question then broke the night's sensual quiet, “Why are they... wearing those masks?”

Releasing the breath I wasn't aware I was holding, it was too late to realize that it came out sounding more like a swoon. Letting out an awkward cough thereafter, I padded my way towards Ely quietly saying, “You've seen the news haven't you? About a certain strain of virus or whatnot?” Not that it could affect us vampires in any way, but the Elders did say they had 'tough luck' hiding amongst the humans during the Black Plague.

“But... there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with them...”

It took me a second to realize that Ely was scanning as many humans as he could get his eyes on, making me reach up a hand to his cheek to gently steer his attention to me, “It wouldn't be good to overwhelm your senses like this. Focus on me instead...”

I smiled teasingly up at him as I watched the intense glow of his eyes turn back into their clear blue, the golden strands of hair that now framed his chiseled features tickled the tips of my fingers as I cradled his face in my hands. For a moment, I couldn't help thinking that maybe Ely was an archangel sent to deliver me to my salvation... Though all thoughts of his perceived holiness vanished as Ely suddenly held me by the waist and pulled me closer to him.

Gasping as I felt the warmth of his very human skin seep through the thin layer of my dress shirt, I then felt Ely's lips on my own, intense in its seeking. The groans he made as I nibbled at his bottom lip made my nipples through my shirt, making me wantonly rub against his evident hardness.

While relishing the enticing contrast the coldness of his metallic prosthetic afforded against my heated skin, the supposed start of our passionate night together was rudely interrupted by the shrill ringing of my house phone.

I tensed, cause there was only one person who knew the number to that line. And as if sensing the sudden change in my body language, Ely stopped in his seductive ministrations as well, though his warm breaths directed towards the side of my neck was still quite the temptation.

“Mistress, would you like me to get that for you?”

Choosing to let go how he still refers to me, I gave him a quick peck against his lips as I untangled myself from his warmth, “I'll get it, let's start back at our bedroom.”

Flashing him what I hoped was a seductive look, I then hurried towards the phone, its shrill ringing amidst the quiet of the night almost like a call for urgency.

“Leo! Where in the world--”

“No time cara mia.” The seriousness in his usual carefree tone demanded my full attention, growing more concerned as I heard the ragged breaths he took over the phone as Leo continued talking, “This time they went too far...”



My books are now available:

neverbother.jpg

Never Bother

image.png

Don't You Cry No More


DYCNM Book cover design by @viking-ventures
More credits: Commissioned Cover 1, part 3 - Viking Visual Art Tutorial
NB Book cover design by @ilovewintergem


I'm on HIVE 'coz of:

My main affiliate program ===> ClickTrackProfit

Documenting my life's journey:

My main blog ===> Fresh Start

I started a series since October 2018...

'Coz I like Tumblr ===> I Am Raincrystal

Follow my channel on LBRY ===> @lifeingeneral

BTC address: 3Nu6g6pRbypgASwgEBJaMyUzWKQnzYEkKY

XRP address: rU2mEJSLqBRkYLVTv55rFTgQajkLTnT6mA

(Destination tag: 413584)




presearch



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency