The InkWell Writing Challenge | Magnetic Awakening

Week 6 of Season Two Writing Challenge

goal3144351_1280.jpg
Image by Peter H from Pixabay


Prequel to Blood and Bronze

Series Title: Sanguine and Steel

Week #1: Lifeblood
Week #2: Metal Enhanced
Week #3: Crimson Shutters
Week #4: Cold As Steel
Week #5: Blood Rush

The sheer extravagance of the place would have been considered imposing on a mere human, but I had found myself enraptured with curiosity at the sight of such vastness-- from the golden-lined tiles that made up the floor, to the stained glass dome of the foyer's ceiling-- everything was spared no expense.

All this I took in at a quick glance, and I would have stopped to take in more of what surrounded me had the intense stares that I felt not started to leave a prickling sensation down my very spine. I may not be able to completely decipher where they 'hid' themselves, but they gave off the same vitals as my Mistress and Leonardo-- the unnatural rhythm of their heartbeats.

So unlike the vitals I've scanned of Dr. D and the few other people I had encountered at the facility, but just as different from the sort of “Creatures of the Night” that the Worldwide Web had us to believe.

I returned my gaze on my Mistress, finding myself drawn to how her long raven hair flowed down her slender back, how the slight sway of her hips made me hyper-aware of the drumming in my ears. But just as I was trying to make sense of my warring senses, a deep voice had broken through my reverie.

“So you finally decided to grace us with your presence after several days of 'frolicking' with that madman. And here I thought you'd at least have shown your face to the old man's banquet last night...”

“You know how I never liked going to grandfather's 'blood banquets', I'm even surprised that you've finally went to one yourself, brother dear.”

Had my Mistress not referred to this man as such, I would not have properly surmised their relationship to one another-- the platinum-blond hair that framed his face a stark contrast to my Mistress' own dark locks. I watched their interaction in rapt wonder, listening to what he had to say next.

“I had some things I just wanted to confirm--” He stalled mid-sentence as his ruby-red eyes focused on me before continuing, “--about your 'AI lover'.”

I felt myself tense at the way he referred to me, almost as if in challenge, but before I could analyze the pros and cons of the situation, I felt my Mistress' delicate hand on my own, “Vlad, I'm only here for posterity's sake. I won't take long.”

Before my mistress could make a step forward, her brother had blocked her way, “Go back to your ivory tower amongst the humans Kiera. I'll take care of matters here.”

“But grandfather--”

“--is not well.” I observed for the briefest of seconds how his features tightened at breaking the news, before his face turned back to its ethereal nonchalance, providing to space for any further explanation.

“Since when?? How is that even possibly??” I heard my Mistress ask in bewilderment as if the very idea of their kind falling ill was unheard of.

“Since last night, right after the banquet. In fact--” That was the moment Vlad had leaned in close to my Mistress to whisper something in her ear, though I had heard it just the same.

Leaning back, he warily looked towards the dark corners in the mansion where I could sense some of the intense stares were coming from since upon our entry, before he looked straight at me, “Ely was it?” Though I don't remember having been introduced to him, he continued on as if we were long-lost acquaintances, “Take care of my wayward younger sister why don't you? Make sure she doesn't thirst for more than she can swallow.” He gave me an enigmatic smile as he proceeded to lead us out to the doors.

“Vladimir!! What in the world--!??” My Mistress had barely finished her sentence when the heavy doors slammed shut on our faces. She let out a frustrated sound and huffed about Vlad and his mind games, but I couldn't help replay the words I had managed to hear him whisper to her moments before...

“There is danger brewing amongst the humans. Don't get too close.”

I'm on HIVE 'coz of:

My main affiliate program ===> ClickTrackProfit

Documenting my life's journey:

My main blog ===> Fresh Start

I started a series since October 2018...

'Coz I like Tumblr ===> I Am Raincrystal

Follow my channel on LBRY ===> @lifeingeneral

BTC address: 3Nu6g6pRbypgASwgEBJaMyUzWKQnzYEkKY

XRP address: rU2mEJSLqBRkYLVTv55rFTgQajkLTnT6mA

(Destination tag: 413584)




presearch



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency