Art Talk: Jeremiah Lamenting the Destruction of Jerusalem

I am currently studying the Old Testament and am learning about Jeremiah the prophet right now. So as I was preparing my post of the Rembrandt Tour at the Rijksmuseum I saw again this wonderful painting- Jeremiah Lamenting the Destruction of Jerusalem and wanted to highlight it.


Rembrandt van Rijn
Jeremiah Lamenting the Destruction of Jerusalem, 1630
Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Jeremiah is the prophet of the Israelites before part were destroyed and part were taken captive to Babylon. In the book of Jeremiah he pleads with them to change their ways, prophesies their destruction and then witnesses it.

In this masterful picture by Rembrandt we feel Jeremiah's heartache as he sits alone, while off to the left the city of Jerusalem is burning.

Lamentations 1:1

How doth the city sit solitary, that was full of people! How is she become as a widow! She that was great among the nations, and princess among the provinces, how is she become tributary!


I am so impressed with Rembrandt's ability to convey a feeling of sadness and despondency with paint and give a visual representation to these scriptures.

Lamentations 1:16

For these things I weep, mine eye runneth down with water, because the comforter that should relieve my soul is far from me; my children are desolate, because the enemy prevailed.

Lamentation 2:11

Mine eyes do fall with tears, my bowels are troubled, my liver is poured upon the earth, for the destruction of the daughter of my people, because the children and the suckling swoon in the streets of the city.


Even with all that has happened to him and his people Jeremiah has hope in and loves the Lord.

Lamentation 3:24-26

The Lord is my portion, saith my soul, therefore I will hope in him.
The Lord is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him.
It is good that man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the Lord.

Art Talk Series Highlights

2022
Theme: Artists
Art Talk: Yoyoi Kusama
Art Talk: Heloise Crista
Art Talk: Chihuly on Paper
Art Talk: Etel Adnan
Art Talk: Vasily Kandinsky

Other
Art Talk: Stained Glass Windows at the National Cathedral
ICM at the DBG

Art Talk: 2021 Posts
Art Talk: 2020 Posts
Art Talk: 2019 Posts
Art Talk: 2018 Posts

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency