Random Movies From 2000

The biggest movie I remember from 2000 was probably Cast Away starring Tom Hanks and his stiff friend, volleyball Wilson.


Another movie that caught my attention was How the Grinch Stole Christmas starring Jim Carrey as the Grinch and a cute girl who saves him so he he can save the town from the problem he created.


Random Movies

The 2000s | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009


The Two-Thousands

Decade-Hub | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | The History Channel


MY NAME IS OATMEAL JOEY ARNOLD

ABOUT | CONTACT | FIND | GROUPS | SUPPORT | AUDIO | ARTICLES | PHOTOS | MUSIC | STORE | VIDEOS | WEBSITES | ETC




Castaway 2000 download.jpeg


Cast Away starring Tom Hanks had my attention.


Random Movies From 2000
Oatmeal Daily - 2021-11-17 - Wednesday | Published in November of 2021
MY OTHER ARTICLES AND POSTS


BY OATMEAL JOEY ARNOLD

ACCOUNTS | GROUPS | LIBRARY | PEOPLE | PRINCIPLES | PLACES | ARCHIVE | FILES | GAMES | LINKS | MAPS | NEWS | TIMELINE | ETC


HOW-TO FIND ME ON THE INTERNET

CONTACT | SEARCH | GOOGLE | BING | DUCK | YAHOO | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | YANDEX | YOUTUBE | ETC


WHERE TO FIND ME

BLOGS | WEBSITES | BLURT | DREAM | ECENCY | HIVE | PEAKD | READ | SEREY | STEEMIT | VOILK | ETC


MEA OMNIA MEANS EVERYTHING

SEARCH | TOPICS | DIRECTORY | HISTORY | ARTS | EDUCATION | ENTERTAINMENT | GEOGRAPHY | HEALTH | LANGUAGE | LAW | LIFE | PLAY | POLITICS | RELIGION | SCIENCE | TECH | WORK | ETC


Random Movies from 2000

Here are a few random films from the year 2000 A.D. I've not seen all of these movies in 2000. Some of them I ended up seeing later on in following years. I may not have seen all of these movies. There may be other movies I've forgot to mention. So, this may not be a complete list. It's more like a random list in chronological order as follows.


Scream 3

2000-02-04 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I've only seen bits and pieces of the Scream movies but was always intrigued whenever the trailers would come on. The black Scream robe and white mask is as iconic as the Jason mask from Friday The 13th franchise. The Scream movies are slashers. I would say they're within the horror genre or almost. I wanted to say they're partly comedy in part. But I guess not officially. Perhaps I just found them to be a little funny. Oh, maybe I'm thinking of another movie called Scary Movie.


An Extremely Goofy Movie

2000-02-29 - direct to video release


I saw A Goofy Movie in 1995 in theaters. This was the sequel which I've not watched.


Gladiator

2000-05-05 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I eventually saw this Russell Crowe movie years later.


Mission: Impossible II

2000-05-24 - Wednesday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I'm not sure if I've seen this one but I have seen some of the other Mission Impossible films over the years which I find exciting.


Bio-chemical expert Dr. Vladimir Nekhorvich sends a message to the IMF for Ethan Hunt, an old friend of his. He warns that his employer at Biocyte Pharmaceuticals forced him to develop a biological weapon to profit from the cure. He arranges to meet with Ethan to deliver the Chimera virus, and its remedy, Bellerophon.


In real-life, chimeras are animal-human hybrids which are created in labs, genetically. They've been cloning and spliting and mixing DNA for decades. This is an example of a movie which features elements of truth that is yet scrambled. They will often take a bit of reality and change it into a work of fiction in order program the general public to be resistant to understand the reality that chimeras are human-animal Frankenstein monsters.


Shanghai Noon

2000-05-26 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I ended up seeing this Jackie Chan movie some years later on, I found it to be action-packed, a bit funny, a bit entertaining, thrilling a bit.


Titan A.E.

2000-06-16 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I remember watching the trailers for this movie in the theaters possibly as early as 1999 or at least some months before June of 2000. I didn't go see this movie but was curious based on the ten second teaser trailer. I saw just the title of the movie and that is it. The plot for this movie is interesting. In the year 3028, a groundbreaking scientific project known as "The Titan Project" incurs the wrath of the Drej, a hostile race of aliens with bodies of pure energy, who fear that it will allow humans to challenge them. Determined to wipe out humanity, the Drej destroy Earth in a massive attack, forcing the surviving humans to evacuate and flee into space.


Chicken Run

2000-06-23 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I remember seeing it in theaters, probably in June or July of 2000.


The chickens were able to run away to an island to live happily ever after. They don't become Thanksgiving dinner.


Me, Myself & Irene

2000-06-23 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I've not seen this Jim Carrey movie as of 2020. But I'm a big fan of Jim. The story is of a wife who leaves. So, he develops a split personality. She comes back. They do crazy things, the three of them as he is now two people, hence the title to the film.


The Patriot

2000-06-30 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


My mom watched it a few times while she was a theater auditor. I've seen a few excerpts over the years. I don't think I've seen it yet as of 2020. It stars Mel Gibson.


During the American Revolutionary War in 1776, Captain Benjamin Martin (Mel Gibson), a veteran of the French and Indian War and a widower with seven children, is called to Charleston to vote in the South Carolina General Assembly on a levy supporting the Continental Army. Fearing war against Great Britain, Benjamin abstains; the vote is nonetheless passed, and, against his father's wishes, Benjamin's eldest son Gabriel joins the Continentals.


The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle

2000-06-30 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


My uncle Jim did some impressions of these two cartoon characters. I've only seen bits and pieces of the cartoons and of this live-action film as well over the years. I find these characters to be a bit funny and fun.


Disney's The Kid

2000-07-07 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I ended up watching this movie years later, it involves time travel, it stars Bruce Willis. His younger self runs into him. He thought it was just a random chubby boy. But it was himself.


Scary Movie

2000-07-07 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I've seen like bits and pieces of this silly movie over the years.


X-Men

2000-07-14 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I'm a fan of the cartoons. I'm not sure if I've seen this movie but I have seen some of the other X-Men movies. My favorite character is probably Wolverine. I've been fans of Halle Berry as Storm and especially Patrick Stewart who played Professor Xavier. I've been a fan of Stewart ever since I started watching Star Trek: Next Generation, he played Captain Picard.


Coyote Ugly

2000-08-04 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I might have saw bits and pieces of this movie years later. I kind of remember the title to this film.


Space Cowboys

2000-08-04 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I didn't go see this movie but I do remember seeing the trailers for this movie starring Clint Eastwood, Tommy Lee Jones, etc.


Bring It On

2000-08-25 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I remember watching the trailers to this movie. I may have seen bits and pieces of this movie over the years, it's about a bunch of cheerleaders dancing and trying to compete to be the best dancers ever. I found the trailers to be surprising, shocking, exciting, different, interesting.


The Little Mermaid II: Return to the Sea

2000-09-19 - Tuesday - direct to video release


I've seen bits and pieces of this movie, maybe a few seconds a few times. I'm a fan of Ariel to a small degree. I'm a huge fan of the songs seen in the original film which premiered in 1989.


Billy Elliot

2000-09-29 - Friday - U.K. theatrical premiere


I might have saw this during high school. But then again, I might be mistaking this movie for another. This film is about a boy who becomes a dancer.


Meet The Parents

2000-10-06 - U.S. theatrical premiere


I've seen bits and pieces over the years and must have saw it all the way through at some point later on.


Pay It Forward

2000-10-20 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I eventually saw this movie years later for the first time. It's a powerful movie which I do love. The boy does this project for school. He does something good for somebody. He says, "Pay It Forward," hence the title to this film. The person does something good for somebody. And that person does something good for the next person. And it goes on and on. Each person passes it on and it eventually gets back to the boy. He was saying people are good which is partly true in some ways. It reminds me a game I played with my CCBC youth group in the 1990s and/or I think also with my HFBC youth group where we would trade things with random people but it had to be something better. We would run around neighborhoods in Cornelius and/or Hillsboro knocking on doors. We were in two or more groups of a few people each. We started off with something small like a pen. Somebody may have given something better like maybe two pens or a cup. I forget which items we had and which items we got. But we would continue going to different houses asking for new things. We would continue to trade up. Get a marker. Trade it for a book. Trade the book for a backpack, for example. I'm not sure how that ended but it was probably similar to this movie.


Left Behind: The Movie

2000-10-31 - Tuesday - video release | 2001-02-02 - Friday - theatrical release


I probably saw it at church or something in 2000 or 2001. It stars Kirk Cameron who I knew from Growing Pains. I do like the Left Behind series.


Charlie's Angels

2000-11-03 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


The trailers caught my attention because there were girls in them, so kind of like three female Kill Bill ninjas. I've seen bits and pieces of this movie.


Little Nicky

2000-11-10 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I've only seen like bits and pieces of this Adam Sandler movie over the years.


How the Grinch Stole Christmas

2000-11-17 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I remember seeing this movie, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, in theaters in November of 2000 or at least by December of that same year at the latest, I imagine. Probably saw it before of after Thanksgiving, but I'm not totally sure of the exact date from the top of my head. I was a fan of Jim Carrey based on the movies I've seen of him in the 1990s. I grew up with him. I love Christmas. I was familiar with the story of the Grinch. I've seen bits and pieces of the cartoon depiction of the Grinch. The girl stands out. She was cute and she helped redeem the Grinch. The story of how the Grinch turns around to save the day at the end, spoiler alert, is heart-warming in some ways. The character development of the Grinch in this film makes it a classic.


Unbreakable

2000-11-21 - Tuesday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I didn't end up seeing this movie until the 2010s. My memory says I saw it at Matt Kurtz's house. I don't think I even knew about this movie until the 2010s. I probably saw it before I went to Vietnam in 2012. The story is very unique.


This film stars Bruce Willis who is strong like a superhero and Samuel L. Jackson who has weak brittle bones. I guess nobody told him about what calcium can do for bones.


102 Dalmatians

2000-11-22 - Wednesday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I think I saw this in theaters, this was the sequel to 101 Dalmatians which premiered in 1996 which I saw in theaters with family and with our friends, the Bailey family.


Dude, Where's My Car?

2000-12-15 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I saw the trailers and thought it was silly but funny. I've only seen a few seconds of this movie starring Ashton Kutcher who I've seen from That 70's Show which premiered in 1998.


What Women Want

2000-12-15 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I remember watching this Mel Gibson movie some years later and I think I enjoyed it.


The Emperor's New Groove

2000-12-15 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


Not sure If I've seen this movie completely but I did see the trailers I think which I found to be interesting.


Cast Away

2000-12-22 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


We saw this at Cinema 7 in Forest Grove for Christmas of 2000 as a family, around five or six of my immediate family including me were there, I don't remember the exact day but I think it was in December and before January of 2001. I don't know if Katie was there, she may have been the only one absent.


In this movie, Cast Away, Tom Hanks plays Chuck Norris who survives a plane crash in the Pacific Island. Think Gilligan's Island or Lost but with only one person.


Miss Congeniality

2000-12-22 - Friday - U.S. theatrical premiere


I've seen like bits and pieces of this movie over the years, it's about a female undercover FBI agent.


U.S. Theatrical Premiere

The dates I've provided here for U.S. theater premieres are from Wikipedia. I've listed these dates to help me know a general ballpark as to when I might have seen some of these movies in the big screen. Movies would play in the cinema for no more than like three months. A lot of movies stay in theaters for no more than a month. Many of the movies would come out on VHS video or DVD within a year after their theatrical release. Some of them come out on video within as little as three to six months sometimes.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency