Monday Music - [ENG - ESP] 3 Songs From My Youth / 3 Canciones De Mi Adolescencia

Just the other day I came across an initiative posted by @littlegremlin to share three songs that have marked my adolescence. Oh, what a fun way to date myself! And since the prompt post (as well as many responses) were written in Spanish, I thought I'd make this one bilingual too. So let's see, which three songs stick out particularly from those days...? Ha, I even found a pic from those times (I must have been 16 or so).

escanear0090.jpg

El otro día me encontré con una iniciativa publicada por @littlegremlin para compartir tres canciones que han marcado mi adolescencia. ¡Oh, qué forma tan divertida de poner una fecha en mí! Y dado que la publicación (así como muchas respuestas) estaban escritas en español, pensé en hacer la mía bilingüe también. Entonces, veamos, ¿qué tres canciones sobresalen particularmente de esos días ...? Incluso encontré una foto de esa época (debo haber tenido 16 años más o menos).

Guns 'n Roses - Don't Cry

Looking back at the stage of my life when I grew out of childhood, but not quite into an adult, music was always around. What changed around this time, was that instead of browsing my dad's old record collection, I would put on songs that my peers would listen to. And back then Guns 'n Roses was all the rage. You could not go to a house party without hearing several of their hits. The one that stayed with me up to this day is the one that was playing the first time I made out with a girl: Don't Cry.

Mirando hacia atrás a la etapa de mi vida cuando crecí de la niñez, pero no del todo a un adulto, la música siempre estuvo presente. Lo que cambió en esa época fue que en lugar de hojear la vieja colección de discos de mi papá, ponía canciones que mis compañeros escuchaban. Y en ese tiempo Guns 'n Roses estaba de moda. No se podía ir a una fiesta en una casa sin escuchar varios de sus éxitos. El que me quedó hasta el día de hoy es el que estaba jugando la primera vez que me besé con una chica: Don't Cry.

Wheezer - Undone (The Sweater Song)

As my second choice of a particularly striking song from my youth, I picked one by Wheezer. In fact, just about anything from the Blue Album would be appropriate here, since my friends and I kept listening to all the tracks on both sides of that tape (maybe the last album I actually bought on cassette). But I feel The Sweater Song is a perfect example for what I found so appealing about this group: the socially weird and nerdy lyrics about love and rejection, played in the distorted rock style I enjoyed, but with beautifully harmonic vocals. In a way a lot like the punk and grunge which I'd discovered and enjoyed already, but more... pretty.

Como segunda opción de una canción particularmente llamativa de mi juventud, elegí una de Wheezer. De hecho, casi cualquier cosa del Álbum Azul sería apropiada aquí, ya que mis amigos y yo seguimos escuchando todas las pistas en ambos lados de esa cinta (tal vez el último álbum que compré en cassette). Pero siento que The Sweater Song es un ejemplo perfecto de lo que encontré tan atractivo de este grupo: la letra socialmente extraña y ñoña sobre el amor y el rechazo, tocada en el estilo de rock distorsionado que me gustó, pero con una voz maravillosamente armónica. En cierto modo, se parece mucho al punk y al grunge que ya había descubierto y disfrutado, pero más ... bonito.

Sublime - April 29, 1992

I was in my last year of high school, when my friends and I started listening to another highly influential album: Sublime by the group with the same name. Once again, it's difficult to pick one song, as we virtually got to memorize all the tracks, listening to it at every party, and blasting it from every car's CD player. The most famous ones, like Santeria or What I Got even got considerable airplay by radio stations, but it was the controversial lyrics of April 29, 1992 about the Rodney King riots in various cities throughout the US, that made this song one of our favorites. What I really liked about Sublime was the successful cross-over between punk, ska, reggae, and hip-hop, which gave each of their songs its own particular flavor. But for me Sublime also coincided with turning 18, finishing high school, and saying good-bye to my adolescence.

Estaba en mi último año de la prepa, cuando mis amigos y yo comenzamos a escuchar otro disco muy influyente: Sublime del grupo del mismo nombre. Una vez más, es difícil elegir una canción, ya que virtualmente pudimos memorizar todas las pistas, escuchándola en cada fiesta y desde cada coche. Los más famosos, como Santeria o What I Got, incluso consiguieron una considerable difusión en el radio, pero fue la controvertida letra del April 29, 1992 sobre los disturbios de Rodney King en varias ciudades de Estados Unidos, lo que hizo de esta canción una de nuestras favoritas. Lo que realmente me gustó de Sublime fue el exitoso cruce entre punk, ska, reggae y hip-hop, que le dio a cada una de sus canciones su sabor particular. Pero para mí Sublime también coincidió con cumplir 18 años, terminar la escuela y despedirme de mi adolescencia.

Take a Look at the Previous Posts in my Monday Music Series:

The Sound of the Hungarian Zither
Obligatory Line-Dance at Mexican Parties - El Payaso del Rodeo
Floating Into the Night by Julee Cruise
Classic Canadiana - Stan Rogers
Party Like There's No Tomorrow, Cry Like Everything Is Lost - Hungarian Gypsy Music
The Harder Sound of the Middle Ages - Corvus Corax
The First Hip-Hop I Actually Liked - Things Fall Apart by The Roots
No Prophets in Their Own Land - Rodrigo y Gabriela
Beyond the Boundries of Styles and Genres - King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard
Accordion-Rock You May Not Know (But Really Should) - Los Tabascos
Songs of the Mexican Revolution - La Adelita
Memorable Weirdness - What Do You Want A Japanese To Do Again?
Gloomy Sunday - The Hungarian Suicide Song
Party Tunes from the Wild East - The "Russendisko" Experience
Folk Songs from Your Home Village - Hungarian Regional Sound Archives
Polynesian Salt Water Music
Images Conjured up by Tom Waits' Music
In Country: Folks Songs of Americans in the Vietnam War
Somebody Tell Me - Translating a Hungarian Song Into [EN] and [SP]
Somebody Tell Me - first trial & live performance [HU] [SP] [EN]
Horst Wessel in Mexico
Playing for Change - Old Favorites Played Around the World
Soothing Tunes and Gentle Rhythms of Mali Music
What Is It About Music? [Ecotrain's Question of the Week]
Halász Judit, Memories from my Childhood
Discovering Rocksteady
The New Generation of Banda
Horrible Music From Hungary: Dáridó or Wedding Rock

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency