Obligatory Line-Dance at Mexican Parties - El Payaso de Rodeo

Yesterday I went to the graduation party of my wife's niece. The whole family was invited to this event, which included all the important elements: dashing suits and frilly dresses, spicy food and alcohol, a photo-booth with crazy hats, wigs and huge glasses, and of course lots of music and dancing.

While the food was served, the DJ played nostalgic music from the 50's through the 90's at an acceptable volume, but once dinner was finished, the volume was turned up, and everyone started dancing to the most popular Salsa, and Banda hits from the last few decades. I've become quite familiar with these songs, which can't be missed at any party, and for those who can't get enough of them, anytime between parties too. They have become such a mainstay of Mexican culture that calling them the soundtrack of life is no overstatement. However, there is one song among them that despite its popularity doesn't seem to meet the profile: El Payaso de Rodeo, or Rodeo Clown in English.

Not Your Typical Salsa Hit

The weirdest thing, in my opinion, is how here in Mexico everybody immediately hits the dance floor when this song comes up, and proceeds following the correct line-dance steps... and most amazingly, actually enjoys it! Of course this is the only Country song at the whole party, and nobody would actually line-dance to anything else. But this song is always present. I started wondering why.

Even though the lyrics are in Spanish, the tune sounds more like Country music. And I don't even mean the Banda, Norteña or Duranguense, which are the preferred genres of rural Mexicans, featuring lots of cowboy hats and western boots. No, this song sounds more like the north-of-the-border type Country, something I used to refer to, quite disdainfully, as Achy-Breaky-Heart crap, when I first got exposed to it as a teenager. Back then Country was my least favorite genre, which I shared with many of my peers, and we loved ripping on it. Though later, especially once I'd left the States, I started missing it (yeah, it had grown on me, what can I say). However, I still considered Achy-Breaky its worst possible example.

Not Just a Coincidence

No rompas más, mi pobre corazón,
estás pegando justo entiéndelo;
si quiebras poco más, mi pobre corazón,
me harás mil pedazos quiérelo.

This is how the song starts, the first line translates to: "Don't break my heart any more, my poor heart..." and it goes on just like that. Oh no, I was thinking. Even the lyrics sound Achy-Breaky! Then the realization hit me: it's not just the style, the rhythm, and the meaning of the words that are the same. This IS actually Achy Breaky Heart in Spanish. So I did a quick search to verify it, and indeed, it's true.

The Making of a Rodeo Clown

Back in 1992 Billy Ray Cyrus made Achy Breaky Heart world famous, and the song did likewise to the guy. Both had been around previously, but neither of them had been very well known. But together they made it into the the upper echelons of the US Country music as well as pop charts. What's even more impressive, this silly little song became also an international hit: In Australia it was the first song to ever make it to triple platinum and best selling single. And in the UK, where you wouldn't even think people liked Country music, it peaked at number 3 on the UK Singles Chart.

Impressive, but that was just the beginning. Internationally the song reached the top-ten in nine different countries, and inspired lots of cover versions, and parodies. One of these was recorded in 1994 by the Mexican group Caballo Dorado as No Rompas Más (Mi pobre corazón), as well as a faster version of the same tune, called Payaso de Rodeo. Since then these two songs have been played back on back at every single Mexican wedding, graduation party, birthday party, 15-years party, Christmas, Independence Day, or any other fiesta. So when it comes up, you can't miss out on the line-dancing!

This video is not from yesterday's party, just a random find on YouTube. Still, it is a very authentic example of the Payaso de Rodeo experience:

Please check out these great communities I'm contributing to: 


#ecotrain | What is EcoTrain | Discord Community

#cyclefeed | Introducing CycleFeed | Discord Community

Join us on Discord

Introducing SteemitDreamit | Discord Community


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency