Art Talk: Taft Museum in Cincinnati, Ohio

When I chose to go to Cincinnati for a work conference I went because I wanted to also visit my dear friend Sara since she lives in Ohio. I didn't know how much great art I would find in Cincinnati.

Let me show you a few treasures in the Taft Museum.

Balthasar van der Ast
Still life with Tilted Basket of Fruit, Vase of Flowers, and Shells, 1640-1645

The Taft museum is a 200 year old historic home and now museum. While we were there the main house was under construction for the Bicentennial.

We were able to see many great works that were set up in a different part of the house/property, including a portrait of Anna Taft.


Roimundo de Madrazo y Garreta
Anna Stinton Taft, 1902

Anna and Charles lived in the house from 1873 until 1929. Anna's inheritance was equal to over $600 million dollars today and it made her the richest woman in Ohio. Her and her husband became art collectors and philanthropists. (plaque next to painting)

The Tafts bequeathed their historic home and private collection of 690 works of art to the people of Cincinnati in 1927. 1


I really enjoy the story of art collectors like the Taft's and seeing what art work they collected.

Decorative works

There were many decorative works of art that were fascinating to see.


Porcelain Vases

There were many porcelain vases throughout the museum from the Ming (1368–1644) and Qing dynasties (1644-1912). 2



Paintings

There were an interesting variety of paintings including the Queen of Spain painted in 1800, a plaque of St. Luke from 1600, and a portrait of William Taft, who was Charles' half brother and President of the United States from 1909-1913. 3


I was so happy to see Whistler and Sargent, some of my favorite 19th century artists.


One of the best parts about our time in the museum was the guard that was there. He was very friendly and told us about the art. He was most excited to show me this painting and how the road is going in the same direction no matter where you are standing looking at the painting.

Another painting that caught my attention was this one. The light and detail were beautiful. I could almost feel the silence as the girls worked on their sewing.

Jazaf Israels
Sewing School at Katwitk, 1881

Inside the museum

Here is a look at the museum. I would really like to go back when the house is complete and see the art Anna and Charles collected and how they arranged it in their home.


Here I am with Sara right outside the museum.

Personal 30 Day Challenge- Day 2

Art Talk Series Highlights

Art Talk: 2020 Posts
Art Talk: 2019 Posts
Art Talk: 2018 Posts

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency