Art Talk: National Gallery of Art 2021

When in DC I ALWAYS go to the National Gallery of Art (NGA). Remember a couple of post ago I was talking about how much I like the MET, well I love the NGA just as much.

While living in DC I would go to the museum often and do tours and then I started making my own tours and taking my friends.

Last year (2020) for Art Talk I took you all on tours of the NGA. Here is the Collection of Art Talk 2020 with 6 different tours.

This time there were no tours going so here are the pictures that caught my attention as I wandered this awesome museum.

Sculpture Gallery



Edgar Degas
Little Dancer Aged Fourteen, 1878-1881
France


Auguste Rodin
France

Rodin has so much emotion in his sculptures!

The ThinkerThe KissWoman and Child

Pietro Magni
The Reading Girl, 1861
Milanese



Stairs
Even the stairs are beautiful marble.

Italian

Leonardo da Vinci
Ginevra de Benci, 1474/1478
Florentine

I had to show Jodi my favorite picture in the gallery. It is an amazing two sided portrait wit so much symbolism and skill.


Sandro Botticelli
Adoration of the Magi, 1446-1510
Florentine

This is great for the day after Christmas.


Raphael

Bindo AltovitiSt. George and the DragonClose up of the Small Cowper Madona



Titian
Venus with a Mirror, 1555
Venetian

Courtyard

One of my favorite places to sit and rest and think and watch people while in the museum.


Dutch

Now I am going over to the Northern or Dutch Renaissance art. The main piece I want to see is The Annunciation by Van Eyck. It is one of the most incredible paintings ever. The details in a painting that small are incredible.

I realized this trip I really like Dutch art!



Jan Van Eyck
The Annunciation, 1434-1436
Netherlandish

Here is another two sided painting.

Hans Memling
Chalice of Saint John the Evangelist, 1470-1475
Netherlandish

A couple of incredible still life paintings. How do they look so real? How can Heda paint glass and metal like this?

Gerret Willemsz. Heda
Still Life with a Ham, 1650
Dutch


Jan Davidsz De Heem
Vase of Flowers, 1645
Dutch


Probably the most famous Dutch painter. I heard that his eyes follow you no matter where you are standing in the gallery. What do you think?



Rembrandt van Rijn
Self Portrait, 1659
Dutch

This beautiful oil and ink picture is a new discovery for me and it is awesome!



Willem Van De Velde The Elder
Dutch Ships near the Coast, 1650s
Dutch

The Rotunda


American

Let's start with mom's favorite artist Albert Bierstadt


Albert Bierstadt
Mount Corcoran, 1876-1877
American


Albert Bierstadt
The Last of the Buffalo, 1888
American


Albert Bierstadt
Lake Lucerne, 1858
American

And one of my favorite artists, John Singer Sargent and Repose!

John Singer Sargent
Nonchaloir (Repose), 1911
American



John Singer Sargent
Setting out to Fish, 1878
American



Winslow Homer
The Dinner Horn, 1870
American

Rembrandt Peale
Rubens Peale with a Geranium, 1801
American

There you have a walk around the National Gallery of Art with no agenda, just seeing where I go. I went to a lot of my favorites and found a couple of new paintings. There are sooo many more amazing works of art.

If you want to see more and or get more details check out the Collection of Art Talk 2020 with 6 different tours.


Personal 30 Day Challenge- Day 26

Art Talk Series Highlights

Art Talk: 2021 Posts
Art Talk: 2020 Posts
Art Talk: 2019 Posts
Art Talk: 2018 Posts

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency