SteemSQL needs your help!

I launched SteemSQL in September 2016. Since then, SteemSQL is gaining momentum as more and more people and applications rely on it for their daily work.

Enterprise-class service

For more than one year, SteemSQL has been servicing its users 24x7x365, providing an enterprise-class availability of 97.97%

These numbers would have been even better if I hadn’t to shut down the infrastructure to perform my last planned maintenance

In the above mentioned post, you will see some stats about the load put on SteemSQL’s infrastructure. In short, SteemSQL manage:

  • ~11,000 requests per minute (with peaks up to ~34k reqs/min)
  • ~710,000 lock requests per minute (with peaks up to 4 millions locks/min)

Future roadmap

With the current growth of Steemit (we broke the 1,000,000 transactions per day record few days ago), I will need to rewrite the Database Injector to improve performances.

I also plan to deploy fully redundant steemd Full nodes to ensure fail-over and avoid the database being out of sync from the blockchain when under heavy load, like it happened sometimes recently.

I also plan to allow to deploy redundant database server to improve high availability and enable load balancing.

Why does SteemSQL need your help?

Providing such high-quality service isn't a no cost. The whole infrastructure ( firewall, database server and steemd node) cost me (i.e. out of my pocket) around $350 per month. On top of this, I have to add the Language Analysis Services fee (50$/month) to identify which language is used in posts or comments.

And of course, I do not take into account the time spent to setup, monitor and maintain the infrastructure and the Database Injector service.

My wish has always been to keep the access to SteemSQL public and free to everyone, but it's slowly becoming unsustainable and I cannot continue to provide this service at loss.

Some suggested to move to a paid service (maybe with service level differentiation based on different monthly fees). But I’m kind of utopian and would like to give it a try with another way of funding this project, while sticking to the idea of providing it for free.

How can you help?

Here is how you can help me keep SteemSQL alive:

  1. You can upvote and resteem this post
    This is the very first thing you can do, and it will cost you nothing! You can also do it on the other SteemSQL posts.
    Easy, isn’t it?

  2. You can vote for my witness
    I know I'm not the best to brag about myself and the work I do every day for Steemit, hence my low position in the witness ranking (now at #58). Help me to raise this by voting for my witness.

    Once again, it’s free of charge action. Witnesses are paid by the platform for the work they do. And it is up to YOU to choose who you want to reward.

    You will ensure a small but steady revenue that I can allocate to SteemSQL or other projects like SteemitBoard.

  3. You can make a (recurring) donation
    This is the most valuated effort you can make, especially if you are a SteemSQL user.
    Transfer as many SBD (or STEEM) as you can/want. Be sure to to mention SteemSQL in the memo!

    Any amount will help. Small drops make big rivers!

Some did not wait my call and already made it spontaneously:

Thank you so much for your donation! @abh12345, @ace108, @bitrocker2020, @carlgnash, @ecoinstant, @isaideureka, @misterakpan and @justyy

Hopefully my call for support will be heard. This platform is proven to be excellent at supporting projects like @utopian-io, @dtube, @busy.

It would be an amazing Christmas gift to the community to keep SteemSQL free for everyone.

Thank you for reading and for your support!


footer created with steemitboard - click any award to see my board of honor

Support me and my work as a witness by voting for me here!


You Like this post, do not forget to upvote or follow me or resteem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
97 Comments
Ecency