Maternitatem [ENG - ESP ]

NEUTR3.png

ENGLISH.png

The clinic of The Refuge was only a few kilometers away from my house, that cold November morning I was sure that I would put an end to that torment that was slowly consuming me. No one ever explained to me about sex nor did I receive any kind of advice in that area, everything I thought I knew was nothing more than simple assumptions that I never got to check.

Will was the man of my dreams, after high school we started dating formally although I never took him home. As expected, sexual desire ended up consummating a relationship that I thought was incredible, but I was quite out of touch with reality and I would realize over time that being in love does not mean that all obstacles will be overcome nor that love will be reciprocated. Love is a game of two, in my case I discovered that it was me and a few other girls who had fallen under the charms of that scoundrel.

My family did not know that I was dating a guy, in fact many believed that I was a lesbian because of my closeness to the feminist movement, I never cared and never flinched in the face of such accusations. Many people believed that women's liberation was an act of rebellion that did not matter one bit, but the girls of the movement were only fighting against an aggressive system that is always against women.

ESPAÑOL.png

La clínica de El Refugio quedaba solo a unos kilómetros de mi casa, aquella mañana fría de Noviembre tenía claro que acabaría con aquel tormento que me consumía lentamente. Nadie nunca me explicó acerca del sexo ni recibí ningún tipo de asesoría en ese ámbito, todo lo que creía saber no era más que simples suposiciones que nunca llegue a comprobar.

Will era el hombre de mis sueños, luego de terminar la preparatoria comenzamos a salir formalmente aunque nunca lo llevé a casa. Como era de esperarse el deseo sexual término por consumar una relación que a mí parecer era increíble, pero yo estaba bastante desfasada de la realidad y me daría cuenta con el paso del tiempo que estar enamorada no significa que todos los obstáculos se van a vencer ni que el amor va a ser reciproco. El amor es un juego de 2, en mi caso descubrí que era yo y unas cuantas muchachas más las que habían caído bajo los encantos de aquel canalla.

Mi familia no sabía que salía con un chico, de hecho muchos creían que era lesbiana por mis cercanías al movimiento feminista, nunca me importo ni inmute ante tales señalamientos. Muchas personas creían que la liberación femenina era un acto de rebeldía que no importaba ni un ápice, pero las muchachas del movimiento solo luchaban contra un sistema agresor que siempre está en contra de la mujer.

NEUTR3.png

Now that I think about it, my life would have been a little different if my sexuality had really leaned towards lesbianism. But that was not my reality and I was paying for the consequences of my actions; a life was growing inside of me and I didn't even feel prepared. Not even my mom would support me if I decided to have one.

In a society where if you got pregnant you were looked down upon, if you had an abortion you were banished but if a man accompanied you they said that "at least the child would have a father" I didn't want to fit in. But my son didn't have a father either, Will's fervent love vanished as soon as he knew that the fruit of our passion was growing rapidly in my womb.

I never quite understood why he left without telling me, but after a while I was grateful he did. Will was the son of a lawyer who would never accept me into his family, much less accept a grandchild who would cut short the plans he had for his son, so I was left to live a hellish life at home where I would surely be treated like a whore or be reminded of the burden of bringing another member into the house and neither option was acceptable to me.

Ahora que lo pienso mi vida hubiera sido un poco diferente si en verdad mi sexualidad se hubiera inclinado al lesbianismo. Pero no era esa mi realidad y estaba pagando por las consecuencias de mis actos; una vida crecía dentro de mí y yo ni siquiera me sentía preparada ¿A quién debía acudir? Ni siquiera mi mamá me apoyaría si decidiera tenerlo.

En una sociedad en la cual si salías embarazada te miraban mal, si abortabas te desterraban pero si por el contrario un hombre te acompañaba decían que "al menos el niño iba a tener un padre" yo no quería encajar. Pero mi hijo no tenía un padre tampoco, el ferviente amor de Will se esfumó tan pronto supo que el fruto de nuestra pasión crecía rápidamente en mi vientre.

Nunca termine de entender porque se marchó sin decirme nada, pero después de un tiempo agradecí que asi fuera. Will era hijo de un abogado que jamás me hubiera aceptado en su familia, mucho menos hubiera aceptado a un nieto que le truncara los planes que tenía con su hijo, así que a mí solo me quedaba vivir un infierno en mi casa donde seguramente me tratarían como puta o se encargarían de recordarme la carga tan grande que suponía traer a otro miembro a la casa y ninguna de las opciones eran aceptables para mí.

NEUTR3.png

So when I found out that the Refuge clinic provided safe and legal abortions I did not hesitate to make an appointment with all the fear and consequences that this would imply, I embarked on a journey of no return where unaccompanied by anyone I would have to say goodbye to that being who was not to blame for how foolish I had been and to whom I would not subject to any harm no matter how much pressure I felt in those days.

Nothing and no one prepares you to be a mother, that's why I always believed that being a mother was a trial and error procedure. When you go into those clinics they ask you if you are sure and give you psychological help, in my case it was wonderful to have a professional team to help me with my insecurities, the day I had the abortion I took a weight off my shoulders. That day I knew that I was the owner of my body and my destiny and that no one would tell me what to do anymore.

Por lo que cuando descubrí que en la clínica del Refugio practicaban abortos seguros y legales no dude en agendar una cita con todo el miedo y las consecuencias que eso implicaría, me embarque en un viaje sin retorno donde sin compañía de nadie tendría que decir adiós a aquel ser que no tenía culpa de lo tonta que había sido y al que no sometería a ningún daño por mucha presión que sintiera en aquellos días.

Nada ni nadie te prepara para ser madre es por eso que siempre creí que serlo era un procedimiento ensayo y error. Cuando entras en esas clínicas te preguntan si estas segura y te brindan ayuda psicológica, en mi caso fue maravilloso contar con un equipo profesional que asistiera mis inseguridades, el día que aborté me quité un peso de encima. Ese día supe que era la dueña de mi cuerpo y de mi destino y que ya nadie me diría que hacer nunca más.

NEUTR3.png


𝐀𝐧𝐨𝐭𝐡𝐞𝐫 𝐩𝐨𝐬𝐭𝐬 𝐨𝐟 𝐦𝐲 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐡𝐨𝐫𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩 | 𝐎𝐭𝐫𝐚𝐬 𝐩𝐮𝐛𝐥𝐢𝐜𝐚𝐜𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐞𝐬 𝐝𝐞 𝐦𝐢 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐨𝐫í𝐚:


Carpe Díem
Charlene
Concurso de minicuentos en homenaje a Cortázar de Literatos Libertad

𝐓𝐫𝐚𝐧𝐬𝐥𝐚𝐭𝐞𝐝 𝐛𝐲 𝐦𝐞 & 𝐚𝐥𝐬𝐨 𝐮𝐬𝐢𝐧𝐠 Deepl

Source of the Cover


GIFs elaborated by @equipodelta

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency