Charlene [ENG - ESP]

34.png

ENGLISH.png

I was so intrigued by Mr. Callahan's modus operandi that I would never have guessed it. He was an older guy about 55 years old, he seemed respectable and kind hearted but I was about to realize that sometimes there are ravening wolves in sheep's clothing and that evil can come from where you least expect it.

At that time I had managed to become a fellow of an important program in the scientific community, my entry was on my own merits since I had no contacts within the institute, my mom always said that I would achieve something big in life but when you are young and do not come from a prominent family things are always uphill.

The truth is that the scholarship at the Thomas Alba Institute was going to mean a change in my life from every point of view, as scientists we always value field work and I felt completely ecstatic despite not having many of the resources and tools that other students had. That alone motivated me to do my best in all circumstances and from all perspectives.

ESPAÑOL.png

Me intrigaba tanto el modus operandi del señor Callahan que nunca lo hubiera imaginado. Era un tipo mayor de unos 55 años, parecía respetable y de buen corazón pero estaba a punto de darme cuenta que a veces hay lobos rapaces disfrazados de ovejas y que la maldad puede surgir del lugar que uno menos espera.

En aquel entonces yo había conseguido ser becaria de un programa importante de la comunidad científica, mi entrada fue por méritos propios ya que no tenía ningún tipo de contactos dentro del instituto, mi mamá siempre dijo que yo lograría algo grande en la vida pero cuando eres joven y no vienes de una familia prominente las cosas siempre son cuesta arriba.

Lo cierto es que la beca en el Instituto Thomas Alba iba a significar un cambio en mi vida desde todo punto de vista, como científicos siempre valoramos el trabajo de campo y yo me sentía completamente extasiada a pesar de no contar con muchos de los recursos y herramientas que los demás estudiantes contaban. Aquello solo me motivo a dar lo mejor de mí en todas las circunstancias y desde todas las perspectivas.

34.png

The institute was a place with all kinds of people, I was never particularly outgoing so I didn't have many friends and the ones I did have were fellows just like me. There I was, engrossed between classes and being outstanding in that was going my day but at night when everyone was supposed to sleep I was studying, so I always ended up going to bed very late at night and took the opportunity to open the side window of my room on campus.

It was there that I began to witness an event that would end in tragedy. While everyone was sleeping I began to see how Mr. Callahan, who was one of the most well known professors on campus, entered room 55 which was right in front of my window, it always happened at very late hours of the night when there were no people around, he always knocked twice and the door opened slowly without letting me see the person who was living inside.

I always went to sleep before Callahan left, but there were nights when I was able to document his departure around 2:00 a.m. I never noticed the fact that Callahan would leave. I never noticed the fact that as students we couldn't have that kind of relationship with our professors but what surprised me the most was when I learned the identity of the person the professor methodically visited every night.

Charlene was one of the quietest girls in the room, it was said that she suffered from some kind of depression I never spoke to her but after the events of that summer I would realize that in silence there is twice as much noise as in common hustle and bustle.

El instituto era un lugar con todo tipo de gente, yo nunca fui especialmente extrovertida así que no tuve muchos amigos y los que tenía eran becarios igual que yo. Allí estaba yo, ensimismada entre las clases y ser sobresaliente en eso se iba mi jornada pero en las noches cuando se suponía todos debían dormir yo estaba estudiando, por lo que siempre terminaba acostándome muy tarde en la noche y aprovechaba para abrir la ventana lateral de mi habitación en el campus.

Fue allí donde comencé a ser testigo de un hecho que terminaría en tragedia. Mientras todos dormían comencé a ver cómo el señor Callahan, el cual era uno de los profesores más conocidos del campus entraba a la habitación 55 que quedaba justo a la vista de mi ventana, siempre sucedía lo mismo a muy altas horas de la noche cuando ya no quedaban personas rondando, él siempre tocaba la puerta 2 veces y la puerta se abría despacio sin dejar ver a la persona que hacía vida dentro.

Yo siempre me iba a dormir antes de que Callahan se fuera, pero hubieron noches en las que pude documentaba su salida cerca de las 2 de la madrugada. Nunca repare en el hecho de que como estudiantes no podíamos tener ese tipo de relaciones con nuestros profesores pero lo que más me sorprendió fue cuando me entere de la identidad de la persona a la que el profesor visitaba metódicamente cada noche.

Charlene era una de las chicas más calladas del salón, se decía que sufría de algún tipo de depresión nunca hablé con ella pero después de los acontecimientos de aquel verano me daría cuenta que en el silencio existe el doble de ruido que en el bullicio común.

34.png

In the early morning of July 26, 1996, the lifeless body of a student appeared in the vicinity of the high school campus, the stupor caused by that event was of such great magnitude that classes were suspended.

The body found was none other than that of the depressed girl in room 55, Charlene had been murdered and that was all we knew. The body had signs of strangulation and had been thrown into a pond, immediately a number of suspects filled the Chelsea Police Department, but it was clear to me that Mr. Callahan had murdered Charlene, but why? Little or nothing was known about the investigation and I could not remain silent.

I plucked up my courage and went to the police department to tell my truth. I had witnessed several visits Mr. Callahan had made to room #55, I had also documented his departures and I asserted that my suspicions were on him. No one flinched when I stated my truth, the professor had been accused of harassment for years by the girls on campus which only caused me to be deeply disturbed by a situation that could have been avoided.

Thanks to my bravery, the investigation would conclude that the evil professor had decided to kill Charlene because of her threats to reveal her unexpected pregnancy, that had irritated Callahan so much that he decided to end the life of that young woman whose only crime was to succumb to the charms of a sexual predator who takes advantage of the vulnerability of his victims.

After so many years I do not regret having contributed to his arrest, I had to do justice for Charlene and for so many women vilely murdered. Misogyny would always be an enemy I would have to defeat throughout my life.

La madrugada del 26 de Julio de 1996 apareció el cuerpo sin vida de una estudiante en las inmediaciones del campus del instituto, el estupor causado por aquel hecho fue de tan gran magnitud que conllevó a que las clases fueran suspendidas.

El cuerpo encontrado no era otra que el de aquella muchacha depresiva de la habitación N° 55, Charlene había sido asesinada y solo eso sabíamos. El cuerpo tenía signos de estrangulamiento y había sido arrojado a un estanque, de inmediato un sin número de sospechosos colmaron al departamento de Policía de Chelsea, pero ya yo lo tenía claro el señor Callahan había asesinado a Charlene pero ¿por qué? Poco o nada se sabía de la investigación y yo no podía quedarme callada.

Me arme de valor y fui al departamento de la policía a contar mi verdad. Había sido testigo de varias visitas que el señor Callahan había hecho a la habitación N° 55, también había documentado sus salidas y asevere que mis sospechas recaían sobre él. Nadie se inmutó cuando yo declaré mi verdad, el profesor llevaba años siendo acusado de acoso por las chicas del campus lo que solo provocó en mí una profunda desazón al estar ante una situación que pudo haber sido evitada.

Gracias a mi valentía la investigación concluiría con que aquel malvado profesor había decidido matar a Charlene por las amenazas de esta última de dar a conocer su inesperado embarazo, aquello había irritado tanto a Callahan que decidió terminar con la vida de aquella joven cuyo único delito fue sucumbir ante los encantos de un depredador sexual que aprovecha la vulnerabilidad de sus víctimas.

Después de tantos años no me arrepiento de haber contribuido a su arresto, debía hacer justicia por Charlene y por tantas mujeres vilmente asesinadas. La misoginia siempre sería un enemigo al cual durante toda mi vida tendría que vencer.

34.png


𝐀𝐧𝐨𝐭𝐡𝐞𝐫 𝐩𝐨𝐬𝐭𝐬 𝐨𝐟 𝐦𝐲 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐡𝐨𝐫𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩 | 𝐎𝐭𝐫𝐚𝐬 𝐩𝐮𝐛𝐥𝐢𝐜𝐚𝐜𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐞𝐬 𝐝𝐞 𝐦𝐢 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐨𝐫í𝐚:


Review Paradise Lost: a Musical Made in Brazil
Grandparent stories contest entry: @Franchalad
Miss Annalise Salisbury

𝐓𝐫𝐚𝐧𝐬𝐥𝐚𝐭𝐞𝐝 𝐛𝐲 𝐦𝐞 & 𝐚𝐥𝐬𝐨 𝐮𝐬𝐢𝐧𝐠 Deepl

Source of the Cover


GIFs elaborated by @equipodelta

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency