The Barleycorn Music Club

20220307_190720.jpg

My incredible partner @ZakLudick posted this article last week in support of his nervewrecked lady.

@zakludick/my-girlfriend-is-playing-live

It's been a ridiculously bumpy and long road to get me here, but without his unwavering bravery and constant belief in me, there is no way that this, my 1st official gig ever and my 1st proper performance on a professional platform, would have ever happened.

20220307_190728.jpg

But it did, and on Monday evening, I swallowed up that stagefright, got up there and gave a flipping fantastic and incredibly enjoyable perfomance, reminding me of why I wanted to be on stage in the 1st place.

For those of you not Familiar with The Barleycorn Music Club you can check them out on Facebook and Instagram, but I'll give you a brief synopsis of why and how cool it was that I received the invitation to perform there. The Barleycorn Music Club has been functioning for many years, here in Cape Town, as a platform for original South African musicians to express themselves and showcase their talent to an exceptional audience of music lovers and fellow musicians. Many of our local musical celebrities have graced their stages and it's been a dream of mine, since I was in junior school, to be able to play some of my original songs here.

Just under a week ago, that dream came true.

20220307_193131.jpg

This performance was made possible by Jasper Dick, who is one of my very 1st friends, having met at the age of 4 and playing hours of Superman games in the sand pit. Jasper and I went to Junior school and highschool together, but slowly drifted apart as the years went by. Music and social media had us make contact again in the late 2000's but it took a global pandemic and another 10 years before we actually got our act together and finally started collaborating.

Jasper has helped me to regain my self confidence as a performer and thanks to his creative input, I have been able to complete and record songs that I did not think would ever see the light of day.

20220307_204352.jpg

I have already officially released "One Last time (Embalm)" and will be releasing "A Song of Hope" on the 21st of March and "Mother of Glory" later this year.

20220307_190655.jpg

Exciting times are ahead. Thank you to everyone who has been following my journey, my story and my dream.

I will be sharing footage from the evening over the next few days. I hope you enjoy them!

20220307_193428.jpg

20220307_193434.jpg

A special thanks to @therneau and @jusipassetti for joining us on this super special evening. We cant wait to spend more of them with you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency