Providential - A true story you wouldn´t believe - Chapter 34

providential 1.png

Do you know that feeling, that you have to do something.....but can´t quite remember what?
This story is just that.
I remember being told to write it but I can´t remember what I was supposed to tell you. What I do know is that everything I am going to tell you really happened, even though it may unbelievable sometimes.

Hit Rewind to start from Chapter One

rewind-27919_640.png

2154993 (1).png

Chapter 34

Everything comes at a cost, and so did this job.
Yes, the job was mine as I knew it would be and I kicked butt just like I knew I would do. I did have to take the stairs up, there was no free ride.

I was starting at the bottom and on minimum wages and this job I was doing was not really my forte. Fortunately, I was still able to impress.


Impressing took time, but after the first two years, I was impressive enough to get the attention of a different department.

That was a trend that I was able to keep up with, every two years there would be new opportunities. The company kept growing, the Granada location kept growing, and I was offered new roles before I had time to get bored.

At a cost...as I said

Over the years I noticed I started missing that house in the middle of nowhere, as I knew I would because it is where I belong.. or at least a place like that is where I want to end up.

The office job and the young daddy life also didn't leave me room to exercise a lot so that trained body I developed working construction slowly faded. So did my time to write, learn and live as a magical free spirit. I now needed to act corporate and I did.

As her health dwindled Stephie´s longing for luxury increased and caused me to work overtime, starting with bank holidays but over time it became every weekend.

While I was working more and more, she was not able to run the household anymore, especially after taking in a dog off the streets. I vetoed that decision, but my vote was discarded and the dog was taken in.

We´ll take her in 'for the winter.'
That was what she said, just till March or April. By March that dog had multiplied by six as she had taken in a pregnant street dog and we were stuck with its pups.

The good thing is that she found help, help that I did not have to pay for. Or at least not pay wages. We found help in having people stay with us, Workawayers.

These were often young traveling people that were happily staying at our place where they would get food and a roof in exchange for 5 hours of work on weekdays. This way I could go to the office and Stephie had the support she needed with the house, dogs, and Kyrian.

This type of help was really necessary because, since the circumstances with her sister, her health had deteriorated even more.

Yeah, I brought up that sister's story before, so let me explain what really happened. And why this might have caused her health to get worse fast.

Her sister Mel fled from her partner taking herself and their two kids to Spain, without his approval. Now he had not even recognized one of the kids as his, but as soon as he figured out that they were not coming back, he came for them.

She called him a narcists and he might have been one. At least several of the features going with that type of personality were there. One of them was that he would get insanely pissed off when something happened that hurt his reputation and was out of his control.

Being left by your girlfriend is not a nice thing. Especially when she also takes the kids and there is nothing you can do about it. Try to explain that to your posh friends without them wondering what you did to deserve that.

He would not accept this. We knew that much.
We also knew that he was coming to get them back sooner or later.

It ended up being sooner, as one morning when I was going outside to water the plants I could see a car parked at my inlaw's house.

From our house, we could see theirs, not too clearly but we could make out an unknown car and something that looked like people moving around the house. My inlaws were staying at the coast for some days and nobody was expected to be at their house for at least another week

The unknown figures and car combined with the fact that he knew where my inlaws lived allowed us to quickly assess the situation.

My sister-in-law, who normally needed an hour to get her kid's dressed, now was packed and bagged within 30 minutes. The three kids were in the back of the black rental car ready to go for a day at the coast to visit their grandparents.

Stephie was driving as Mel was too nervous to hold the wheel, let alone drive this dirt road full of bumps.

9EBDADDB-03C3-412E-A7E5-B84D6C94C191.jpg

The last call Mel had with him was a week ago and he had made it very clear that he did not approve of the kids remaining in Spain. She was terrified of the guy and her daughter had some weird behaviors that did make me wonder how bad this guy could get when he was alone with them.

It´s a known fact that a narcissist in public comes across as normal and even likable. It´s probably me only liking weird people that caused me not to like him from the start. Other than that I had never noticed anything.

I was just like all those neighbors saying it was such a normal decent guy after they received the news that he just murdered his whole family because his wife was planning on leaving him.

Them driving off leaving nothing more than a cloud of dust above the dirt road meant I was alone on the hill not knowing when they would be back, nor knowing if he would be able to locate me.

He had never visited this house but he should be able to locate it quite easily. He definitely knew what town we lived near and that it wasn´t far away from where I just saw the white unknown car leaving the house of my inlaws.

I was right he did locate the town quickly, as within 30 minutes I received a call from the town hall saying that there had just been someone looking for my sister-in-law. They informed me as soon as he left. Which allowed me to assess the situation.

My task was simple, the head started my wife and her sister had needed to remain as big as possible. An hour after the call I saw a cloud of dust coming towards me, this time it was not the black car Stephie was driving, but a white one.

That was another good thing about living off the grid, even if they know where you are, you are still hard to find. Which in this case took him at least 40 minutes more than what was needed.

The white car pulled up the steep hill to our house, and I slowly walked back from the crops I had been watering.

He parked and got out, and so did two old people.
Did he bring his parents?
I guess so, probably because he was afraid of facing the Bitch-inlaw by himself.

2154993 (1).png

If you enjoyed this story so far click the next button for the next chapter

forward-145679_640 (1).png

Providential pic 1
Providential pic 2
Source Pic
Source Button
Source Divider

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency