Muting The Bots

Hi fellow Ranters,

Today I wanted to let loose a little bit about these damn comment bots!

IMG_1072.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Muting The Bots

There are a few things that I've been finding really annoying about some of the things going on with Hive lately. One of them is definitely the bots with people calling the commands all the time! Lol

ft1 edit.jpg

Bots have always been a thing on the Hive blockchain. For a while there were bid-bots, but unless you've been around Hive since before it became Hive, you likely don't remember those. They were services where people could pay a value and you would get an upvote based on how much you sent to them. It was quite a service and there are some people still here on the chain that made a lot of money off that type of stuff, both as a user as well as a provider.

I digress a little bit on that end but I wanted to iterate the point that Bots have always been a part of the Hive blockchain, because well they have their uses. With the advent of 2nd layers like Hive Engine and hopefully expanding more in the realm of DLUX we have the addition of a vast number of tokens if we think about it. One of the turns that this number of tokens has taken recently though, and I find it a little bit annoying in some ways but nice in others, is that people have configured a bot to provide said token to someone as a way to manually distribute the token.

IMG_1072.jpeg

I think this is overall really good and a nice thing to do for people, as you can directly support someone in so many ways lately. Pizza tokens, PGM, LOL and so many others are all tokens that people distribute to others via comments and commands to the bot services.

What really has started to annoy me though is when I see a post and I'm thinking "whoa this one must be pretty good! It's got 20 comments, that's awesome!" and then I get into the post, read it and get to the bottom to leave a little bit of feedback and see what the conversation is at the end of the post and what I end up finding is a bunch of horse shit bot commands and replies! Sometimes I see people call three or four bots at once per comment! What the fuck man?! Lol

IMG_0934.jpeg

The bot command stuff has really gotten out of hand I think! I don't want to sound like an old timer or anything.. but I remember when comments were comments and if you saw many comments on a post they were legit back and forth from the people in the post instead of this incessant volume of spam bullshit.

With that being said, I've gone through and started muting the damn bots! Lol. The bot I haven't muted on purpose right now is Hive Buzz because I like that one, shoot me for my bias I know. The other ones though, even though they give tokens and might have some type of utility, ya those are all getting muted. I'm going to keep an eye on the posts in the community and make sure I cover all the damn bases on those things! Lol. It's nothing against the people who run the bot or the people who use it to generate some type of reward for the person that they are commenting or having a conversation with in the comments but damn is it annoying. I love to see some good engagement on posts but seeing 10 or more comments and all of them coming from the various bots that people are summoning really annoys me.

Cleaning house is all I can say! Lol

image.png
source

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
68 Comments
Ecency