The Driveway Saga Season 4: Episode: 1 - "Pilot and Recap"

October 12th, 2021
Temperature 46F/7.7C


Driveway Saga Season 4 Begins

Season recaps:

  • Season One started on 11/28/2018, it did not start as a means of documenting the snow falls, but as means of learning to do panoramic photography stitching. Then I used my driveway for a few Wednesday walks and well it kind of grew from there. In all Season One consisted of Five Episodes.(images do not appear to be available anymore)
  • 11/11/18 was the first snow followed rapidly by a rain and freeze event.

  • Season Two began on 10-29-2019, and was the real first season. This was when I decided I was going to try and document my winter driveway progress. So I decided to call it the Driveway Saga. There were a total of 12 episodes.

    11-14-2019 was the first snow fall of any significant amount. I hope the snow holds off for a few more weeks as it has in the last two years. I tried to match up my post with communities challenges when it would work. Not sure I will be doing that this time around, I'll start out in my own community Just Because until I find a home for it.

  • Season three: A total of 11 episodes for this season. The first real snow, (plowable amount) was on November 29th. and Ended with the plow guy bringing his loader and adjusting the piles in case it snowed again, that was on the 15th of March this year(2021). Fortunately he did not have to come again and that ended season three.

On to the season set-up Photo's and goals


As mentioned somewhere during season three I wanted to try and start keeping tabs on the temperature on the days I am out there taking the pictures. You may have noticed the Temperature for todays photo shoot. Not to cold yet but below freezing overnight.

In front of where I park:

Parking Spot Front View
The orange blob is a rusty 55 gallon oil drum. Sometime during the winter it will be buried in snow. I will try to keep it in the picture view, but that will depend on how much snow we get.


View from behind where I park:

Parking spot rear view
I can not remember if the black dish antenna disappears from view or not, I think it gets obscured from the pile of snow, but I do not think the snow falls cover it incompletely.

Even though it was a coolish day today, we still had some nice sunshine, although the clouds look like the are a prelude to more rain coming from over the mountains, hopefully just rain and not freezing rain.


The Round-a-bout:

The driveway circle
A slight lean, I will try to adjust a bit better next time. This is the major part of the driveway. I generally come in on the left hand side of the drive and leave via the right hand side of the driveway. My own little round-about.

The photo consist of six frames, the trees don't fit fully in frame so I take one shot with the trees and a lot of foreground, (most of the foreground got cropped out), to much blank area on the ends of the photo series. When the snow falls most pictures will be with my tripod so should end up a bit better looking..


The in and out Trail


The In and Out Drive Part
All the leaves are pretty much gone from the birch and cottonwood trees. Soon the skinny driveway part will get even skinnier as the snow falls. The circle of trees will have a ton and a half of snow pushed up all around them. Everything will be white and pine needle green.


Conclusion and thoughts:

Well that is how things look right now . Below is the table to show the first significant snowfalls of the season.

SeasonFirst Snow fallNumber of Episodes
Season 111/11/20185
Season 211/14/201912
Season 311/29/202011

I left Alaska for a few years in 2012, most of the years prior to 2012 the first snow was almost always on Halloween. Since returning to Alaska the first snow is toward the middle or end of November. We will see if it holds true to the new first snowfalls or if it will revert back to the end of October for the first snowfall.

I will hopefully be able to keep up with tracking the plowing of my driveway, and next post will be when we have that first one inch plus snowfall.

Below are the links to previous seasons. Season 1 and 2 were on steem block chain, most of the pictures have timed out there. I hope blocktrades is right and that our pictures will last a long long time on Hive block chain.


Driveway Saga Season Links

Season 2 first post This post contains links to the five Season One post.

Season 2 last post This link contains all the links to Season Two episodes.

Season 3 last post This link contains all the links to Season three episodes.


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency