Sublime and Beautiful Sunday - In Search of Insects

Sublime and Beautiful Sunday ,,,,My 25.7.2021 edition.

First, I would like to thank the organizers @c0ff33a for #SublimeSunday and @ace108 for #BeautifulSunday for initiating this Community on Hive. This is a great community for us Hivers to be able to share contents with good feelings and vibrations and spread cheerfulness to everyone.

IMG_0429.JPG

We have a very sunny day today so I went for a walk after having breakfast. I was on my way to the Donau Auen National Park and passed thru a pathway used by walkers, hikers and bikers. The pathways have tall grasses now and has not been maintained since the beginning of Spring. At any rate, I have brought along my camera because I wanted to have snapshots of the insects I could find in the area. So this post is about the insects I found along the way.

IMG_0479.JPG

IMG_0415.JPG

The insects I found were mostly bees and its variety... Last week I was posting about the green beetle Rose Beetle that is said to be an endangered specie. This variety of beetle only sips the nectar of flowers and has a life span of two years. They are not harmful to humans in most cases.

IMG_0396.JPG

I guess the most common insect in the pathway is the bees, they are in abundance in the area and likes to sip the nectar of the thistle plant. They are one of the most important pollinators. They are a declining specie which may be caused by many factors including pesticides, pollution, virus, parasite diseases among others..

IMG_0405.JPG

IMG_0409.JPG

Hornet...

This is a wasp variety that could sting so painfully which could give one a swollen skin. It has a tapered abdomen and a narrow waist plus a yellow/black stripes in its body.

IMG_0422.JPG

Graphosoma italicum..

Source

Graphosoma italicum is a species of shield bug in the family Pentatomidae. It is also known as the Striped bug (or Italian striped bug) and Minstrel bug.
The body is almost round, with a large shield. The basic color of the upperside of the body is red, with wide black longitudinal stripes. The pronotum has six black bands. The antennae are black. Also the sides of the abdominal segments (connexivum) are red with many small black spots.

IMG_0420.JPG
The mating minstrel bugs...above and below

This is all for now but I will surely find more of these fascinating insects and I will come back in the said pathway to make more snapshots to share with you. Til then, have a peaceful and lovely Sunday evening.

IMG_0424.JPG

All images are owned by @mers...Camera: Canon EOS 90D w/ EFS 18-135mm lens.

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency