I Saved A Rose Beetle (Endangered Specie Cetunia Aurata) Caught In A Spider Web

It could have been a dreary day for this beetle if I hadn´t seen it, it could just die there helpless, ... trapped in a web trying to escape. I was about to do container gardening yesterday when it caught my attention. The beetle was trying to move the legs intensely so as to free itself from the net. I guess the spider was lurking around and saw the beetle and felt so joyous of the catch. But then......

Rose Chafer Source

Cetunia aurata called the rose chafer or the green rose chafer, is a beetle, 20 millimeters (3⁄4 in) long, that has a metallic structurally colored green and a distinct V-shaped scutellum. The scutellum is the small V-shaped area between the wing cases; it may show several small, irregular, white lines and marks. The underside of the beetle has a coppery color, and its upper side is sometimes bronze, copper, violet, blue/black, or grey.

1.JPG

... I felt so sad for it being trapped and so helpless. So I helped a bit and set it free. I am not sure about its gender. It seems that it was so weak fighting for its life and had been there for a while since it moved so slowly as if hurt.

5.JPG

The only thing I could do was to help in its situation. It hardly moved. Then I took it onto my fingers and transferred it to one of the leaves of my flowering plant. The spider won´t get hungry because there are so many insects in my container garden so that it can catch so many as much as it could eat.

4.JPG

So the beetle was just resting for a while on the leaf and in a few minutes he flew somewhere because I didn´t see it anywhere as I´ve inspected the plant. I hope it has hatched egg before it dies. I have read that the rose beetle could live up to 2 years and after they lay eggs they die.

3.JPG

Not a bad guy.....

This rose beetle is not harmful to humans and pets. It even has an important role in our ecosystem because it helps as pollinator and can improve the status of the soil. They love to sip the nectars of flowers . Sorry for the blurry images, I took them spontaneously that I was not able to set the tripod at all.

IMG_0276.JPG

This beetle is an "endangered specie" and is not to be killed... and once you see one in such bad circumstances as caught in a web, simply take and move it to other place .

Set it free!

2.JPG

All images are owned by @mers and were taken using Canon EOS 90D..


GIF by @Gremayo.gif

GIF by @gremayo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency