Sharing a bit more of my portfolio

IMG_20210918_095436.jpg


I would never claim to be a professional photographer. While my dad used to do quite a bit of freelance work back in the day, I wouldn't say I ever really picked up the bug. At least not at a young age. Back when we had a darkroom in our house, it was my sister that spent the majority of the time with my dad developing film and "printing" off pictures.

Now that I am older, I appreciate the time and effort that went into everything he did. Especially given how easy it is to take, review, edit, and print pictures in the digital age. I remember in the past when he needed edits done on wedding photo or senior picture he had to send them out for an actual artist to touch them up via paint and brush (I believe).

Every now and then, I get lucky and a small portion of his skill shines through into one of my photos. I shared some of those photos with you in this post highlighting some of the beauty that the state of Michigan has to offer.

While many of my photos are very Michigan centric, I have some from outside of the state that I wanted to share with you as well.

The one above is from Tawas Point State Park in Tawas, MI. Tawas is a beautiful East Michigan town on the shores of Lake Huron. It draws a lot of tourists due to the fantastic beaches and beautiful access to the great lake. Camping out on the point is one of our favorite things to do in Tawas.

IMG_20210804_113054.jpg


Heading out of Michigan, my wife and I were lucky enough to take a trip to Hocking Hills, OH with her family this past summer. In fact, it was just a few short months ago, so some of these photos may seem familiar to my regular followers.

If you look up Hocking Hills via Google, you will likely see a lot of photos taken from this particular vantage point. It is probably one of the most photogenic spots at Ash Cave. While usually I don't like to get other people in my shots, that was virtually impossible here. I also feel like the people in the shot give it more character and gives the viewer a better idea of the scale of this geographic formation. It is pretty cool.

I have a ton more pictures from Hocking Hills, that I would love to share, but like I said, I already dedicated a coupe of full posts to them back in August, so if you feel so inclined, you can jump back and check those out.

IMG_20190331_105545.jpg


Staying outside of Michigan for a little bit, a couple of Springs ago, my wife and I made a trip out to Las Vegas to celebrate Spring Break. One of our favorite parts of the trip was when we rented a car and just drove out into the desert to do some sightseeing. Although Hoover Dam was one of the stops on our list, what we found more awesome was Red Rock Canyon and The Valley of Fire parks. It was a bit of a drive from one location to the other, but once inside, we got some really awesome pictures.

The one above is from Red Rock Canyon.

IMG_20190331_104758.jpg

IMG_20190331_104645.jpg


If we ever make our way back to Vegas, I'd love to do some hiking in these areas. There are a ton of trails the get you up close and personal to the landscape.

IMG_20190329_164050.jpg


One of the things I love about flying out West is the views you can get from the jet. Especially on a clear day. This is probably one of the best photos I have ever gotten from a flight.

IMG_20200723_191832.jpg


While I prefer taking photos of landscapes, I will not deny that our dog Jovi is awfully darn photogenic. Like a typical child, she is less than enthused about getting her picture taken all the time as you can see in the photo above.

IMG_20170616_172213.jpg


It doesn't stop me from taking photos of her anyway. Especially when she isn't looking!

IMG_20170724_134148.jpg


Back to Michigan, Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore is probably one of the most beautiful areas of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. It is right on the coast of Lake Superior and the sandstone (or whatever they are) cliffs are just as colorful and vibrant as some of the structures we saw in Nevada above.

IMG_20170724_132809.jpg


If you ever make it up that way, make sure you carve out some time to do one of the boat tours. They are more than worth it! We got some really fantastic shots from our trip. The ones here are a couple of the highlights.

PXL_20201010_192654494.jpg


Finally, since it is Fall and more specifically, October, I wanted to share some of the beauty that Michigan has to offer when the leaves start to change on the trees. I took this while we were camping a year or two ago and I really love how it captures all of the different colors that this time of year brings.

We are visiting this park again at the end of the month and I have a feeling most of the leaves are going to be off the tree by then.

I hope you enjoyed viewing some of the shots from my portfolio. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on them. We had some really great discussion on my last post. I hope that can carry over into this post!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures taken by myself or @mrsbozz

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency