The beauty of Michigan

IMG_20210619_110953.jpg


When it comes to blue waters, blue skies, and some of the most epic sunrises/sunsets on the globe, there isn't much that can compare to Michigan. Over the years my wife and I have taken our fair share of camping trips around the state. I have an ever growing collection of photos from pretty much every stop we make along the way.

Given the fact that Michigan is a peninsula tucked into the heart of the "Great Lakes", we have an abundant amount of shoreline to capture some fantastic views. The beauty isn't isolated to the coast and just short trip inland is sure not to disappoint either.

It is possible I have shared some of these photos as part of a post here and there over the years. I wanted to hand pick some of the best ones and share them in the PhotoFeed community where they possibly haven't received any exposure in the past.

I don't expect that my photos will be up to the caliber of some that I have seen in this community, but with practice I hope to one day be there. I wouldn't say I have a thick skin, but I am more than open to any critiques you might have. I should mention that I have reduced the resolution of many of these images so that they don't take as long to load. That is why the quality might not be up to your personal preferences or standards...

The opening photo is from an area in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan called Fayette. It is a historic smelting town on the coast of Lake Michigan.

IMG_20210619_111238.jpg


This is another one of my most favorite photos from this location. We had a just about perfect day on our last trip here as you can see from the picture of the small harbor/bay that used to be the lifeblood of the town.

IMG_20190625_105910.jpg


This photo was taken at the top of Sugarloaf mountain, just outside the town of Marquette, MI. It is probably one of the largest towns in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The hike up Sugarloaf was pretty rough and included a lot of stairs. Only about half of our group made it to the top, but once you get there the views are well worth it!

IMG_20190808_205135.jpg


Several years ago we took a camping trip to a small town in Michigan called Aloha. If you tried to find it on a map, you likely wouldn't have much luck. What you can look for is Mullet Lake which is one of the largest inland lakes in the state. Aloha State Park sits right on the shores of Mullet Lake and given the right circumstances, makes for some unique and beautiful sunsets!

IMG_20190809_195307.jpg

IMG_20190809_204925.jpg


We made our way back to Aloha about a month or two ago, but this time we were not able to get a camping site right no the lake. That made it difficult to get any good shots. I can always look back at these ones fondly though. They turned out pretty great!

20160915_192808.jpg


Speaking of sunsets, there is a little Island in the Northern part of Lake Michigan called Beaver Island. Although Mackinaw Island is probably the most famous island associated with Michigan, Beaver Island is about seven times the size but is narrow enough that you can pretty much walk or bike to some of the most amazing sunrises and sunsets.

It's been several years since I visited the island, but there is something almost magical about it that always draws you back once you have visited.

IMG_20190614_112607.jpg

image007.jpg


When I was a kid it always confused me that the nickname for Minnesota was called the land of 10,000 lakes. Surely Michigan had at least that many... Even today, I honestly don't know how many lakes Michigan has, but I can tell you what they may lack in quantity compared to Minnesota, they more than make up for in quality.

Lake Charlevoix (above) and Lake of the Clouds (below) are two perfect examples of that. In fact, as I go back and look at these photos, you are probably thinking that the sky is always blue here in Michigan. Trust me, we do have crumby days too!

image008.jpg

image011.jpg

image006.jpg

image018.jpg


In addition to some pretty amazing lakes, Michigan is also home to some pretty spectacular waterfalls. The pictures above are of the upper and lower portions of the Tahquamenon falls and the lower images are from Bond Falls about three hours to the west of Tahquamenon.

image025.jpg


I have so many other pictures I could share, but I am finally going to leave you with this photo I took near the top of Brockway Mountain in Copper Harbor, MI. This is just about as far North as you can get in the state. It is near the tip of the Keweenaw Peninsula that reaches far out into the middle of Lake Superior. This peninsula was once home to a rich copper deposit that brought in miners from all over the world.

Those days are long past, but thankfully the beauty of the area was left behind for all of us to enjoy!

I hope you had as good a time looking at these pictures as I had taking them. I look forward to sharing more photos from my wife and I's travels in a future post!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures taken by myself or @mrsbozz

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
60 Comments
Ecency