A crypt- an architectural treasure

IMGP5457 copia.jpg


Hi friends
Another week with you to present this beauty that impressed me.

IMG_7482 copia.jpg


Well the truth is that just seeing the outside of the cathedral and I was drooling.
Its gargoyles, its facade.
The new cathedral of Vitoria is a jewel wherever you look at it and one of these days I will present it to you.
I showed you the gargoyles

The gargoyles and chimeras of the Gothic - Las gárgolas y quimeras del gótico

But let's get started.
I was looking at the facade since when we saw it we were in the back area, but you could see that I would love it.
As I walked and marveled, I saw a small door, my mind was activated, a secret or an area that I could not pass?

IMGP5370.JPG

I will show you in detail another day


No, it is a Crypt.
It was first thing in the morning and it was almost empty, cancel the noise of the camera and enter to admire it and thus be able to present this wonder to you.
The first impression hit me.
It was all beauty and with a lot of details, which I will leave you as I progress through the crypt.

IMGP5459 copia.jpg

I think we all know what a crypt is:
A place to bury the dead, of course not just any dead, you had to be someone important in the curia, in this particular case it would be the resting place of the bishop.
In 1911 it was consecrated and today it is dedicated to Christian worship.

IMG_7504 copia.jpg


As I always tell you, I'm not an architect or anything like that, I'll just tell you what it meant to me with some technical data.
We enter through the small door that gives access to some marble stairs, there we can already see that we enter something that is built with all the details

IMGP5457 copia.jpg


The impression is of familiarity, you do not feel small when you enter, very different from the cathedral that gives you the impression that you are small, here on the contrary it invites you to enter its ribbed vaults are low and we can appreciate its much better details.

cripta maria imaculada vitoria5458 copia.jpg


The rib vaults are the most used in Gothic architecture, here we are with Gothic, without a doubt it is the ancient architecture that I like the most.
It has some keys with very elaborate and perfect rosettes and as they are not tall we can appreciate them even their texture and chiseled.
The stonemasons had to be men who were undoubtedly artists.

IMG_7505 copia.jpg


I also appreciate that the ribs are specially designed to create the semicircular shape it has.

IMG_7507 copia.jpg


It has seven chapels all around the pulpit, with rich stained glass windows, where a dim light enters but that attracts attention.

IMG_7487 copia.jpg


I will not enter to whom each chapel is dedicated, since I think that these spaces and this entry is for any cult since we are only appreciating its architecture and not the religion that each one has the right to believe in theirs, although they all agree on one thing .
BE A GOOD HUMAN BEING

IMG_7500 copia.jpg


So let's continue observing this beauty, the details are impressive, its reliefs with figures and floral motifs

IMG_7489 copia.jpg

IMG_7503 copia.jpg


As I go around it, I see a tomb, I assumed it would be the body of the bishop for whom this crypt was built, but this is not another bishop, I don't think much of it since this does not usually attract me, but it must be recognized that it is a great job.

IMG_7512 copia.jpg


As I was walking I found a treasure. Where would I lead?
Some marble stairs, with a light that made you imagine a thousand adventures and promised many things.

cripta maria imaculada vitoria5461 copia.jpg

IMG_7515 copia.jpg


So admire them and I went up and we found a gate that leads to the cathedral but is closed.

IMG_7519 copia.jpg


The landing has all the beauty of the place, all the work done, all the design, down to the smallest detail.

IMG_7517 copia.jpg


I go downstairs again and capture the last details.

cripta maria imaculada vitoria7494 copia.jpg


It has been a pleasure to visit it and to think that it has many years ago that I have appreciated it more, not because it is old but because of the means that there were for constructions and although it is not very old since it is from the year 1911, castration and design have taken steps of giants.

IMG_7525 copia.jpg


Here we can see more details of the chapels that are around the pulpit, the arches, the columns, the beautiful capitals.

Catedral de María Inmaculada 123644 copia.jpg


Detail of the tomb of Bishop Raimundo Fernández de Piérola, he was a great patron to build the cathedral, Carrara marble.
We can appreciate in this Italian marble the whiteness it has, I think that in white marble it is one of the most appreciated in cathedrals, white is associated with purity, it will be because of that or simply because of its quality, the truth is that I do not know.

20210827_123710 copia.jpg


The stairs, as I told you, impressed me a lot without an angle, all carved and rounded, the steps at the height of the step, which I do not know if it will be important, but I if I give it to them to go down and up stairs without taking intermediate steps is the measure of my favorite steps,

20210827_123734 copia.jpg

20210827_123752 copia.jpg
step to the cathedral today closed.


Stained glass is another thing that I like to look at and admire. They are pretty and bring the crypt to life.
I have seen many stained glass windows and my favorites are those of the Cathedral of León.
But they are not bad, the small crystals the lead that unites them, the set to form the figures where they are placed so that at a specific time of the day the clarity enters through them.
Quite an art, almost forgotten.

20210827_123846 copia.jpg


I could put a lot of more things if I copy and paste the information from somewhere, but that does not go with me, since I think that we all have access to those things now at this time.
I like more to learn and imagine what the terrain would be like with all the workers working and the master builder giving instructions and at the same time learning from other temples.
Crypt of the new cathedral of vitoria consecrated to Mary Immaculate
Vitoria Gasteiz - Basque Country Spain

5 copia.jpg


my last entry from Vitoria, do you want to visit it with me?

image.png
Vitoria an almost medieval city -Basque Country-Spain


gargoyles

image.png


Center textThe gargoyles and chimeras of the Gothic - Las gárgolas y quimeras del gótico

[//]:# (!pinmapple 42.845660 lat -2.676464 long A crypt- an architectural treasure d3scr)


Canon PowerShot SX730 HS

Image © txatxy. All Rights Reserved.
Original content by Original content by @txatxy

miaHIVE.png

MUNDO.jpg

juankar.png

batiburrillo.png
me Designing Banners - you can use it if you like
hive1.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency