Fell Dragon Book 2 Part 9


Greetings Readers

Today has been a busy day, as even though we have had a public holiday, I'm trying to get ahead of this insane project I am busy on. It seems the client and I now have an understanding. She lets me know if there is anything major she wants changed and I will do it. No longer do I have to deal with 50 minuscule changes that need to be done before I can even start my day.

In other news, today I had a new client pitch themselves to me so that I'd pick up their project. Never in my life have I had someone come to me and sell their project. Usually I have to sell my skills and hope they choose me to do their project. That was a great boost to my ego.

Anyway, enough about changes in my life. I'm sure you're all here to see what is to happen next to Saita. It's a good one today. Today, you get to meet your first Saith, unless you've read the Seeking series. As for the rest of you, if you have no idea what is a Saith, the link to that explanation will be at the bottom. Enjoy today's update!



The next day Myla made her way to the hospital to talk with Saita. She couldn’t just leave what had happened between her and Karesh. The angry Saita had been no different to the grey-masked Butcher, and she was concerned that history was going to repeat itself. She made her way to the room that had been set aside for Saita and Jarah. It was more to keep the girl hidden a little longer before telling the populace that she was alive and well than anything else.

Yet, when she arrived at the room, she only found Jarah working at his computer. On the bedside table was a breakfast that was getting cold, and the bed was made up. Saita hadn’t bothered to sleep it would seem.

“She is downstairs,” said Jarah without looking up from the screen.

“Why?”

“I stopped the pain in her head, but her nerves are still on fire. She went for a run. I assume she is making use of the therapy room.”

Myla sat down on the bed and sighed. “Jarah, does she seem…?”

“Different? Wouldn’t you be if you were locked up for four years being experimented on? She is angry and her trust has wavered. I heard from Doran what Karesh said to her. Clearly, her childhood fears about the two of you have come to life before her. She is trying to find her place in the world again.” Jarah looked at the Queen. “I don’t have the heart to tell her that there is only one place for her now and that is on the battlefield.”

“Don’t say that!” whispered Myla.

Jarah returned to his typing and added. “The painkillers seemed to have worked. Though she didn’t sleep her head didn’t pain her. The nurses reported that she spent most of the night staring at the ceiling but there was no complaint of pain.”

Myla was about to ask another question when Saita wandered into the room with a disgusted look on her face.

“Morning,” greeted Jarah as he turned.

His nose wrinkled when he smelt her. “Dear God, how long were you on the treadmill?”

“Three hours,” she grumbled as she picked at a sweat-soaked shirt.

“Did you drink anything?”

“Water when I got thirsty. One of the assistants brought me a bottle.”

“You smell terrible,” Jarah actually pushed away from her.

Even Myla found herself somewhat overwhelmed by the odour. Jarah went to the bathroom and after some time and a lot of noise he exited with the large mirror under his arm. “There. Please go shower! For all our sakes.”

Saita grumbled at first then chuckled. “Fine, since you made the effort.”

She turned to her mother. “Morning. Could you please include some long-sleeved shirts in the next bundle of clothing you bring me?”

“Of course.”

The girl pulled fresh clothes from the cupboard and entered the bathroom before closing the door. Jarah shuddered and put the mirror down but said nothing until he heard the water running. “She doesn’t like to look at herself in the mirror. She would have walked around smelling like that all day if I didn’t do something.”

“She needs to speak to someone.”

“And say what? She remembers nothing of how the marks and scars were made upon her flesh. She doesn’t want to see them, and she doesn’t want others to see them. She wants to hide and make as if nothing has happened to her but we both know that is impossible.” Jarah sat on his chair. “What has Karesh ordered of you Myla? You look pale.”

“He had threatened to have her banished if she leaves the planet. She is safe as long as she is here, but I fear that Astec has spoken to her.”

Jarah shrugged his shoulders and simply said. “If someone doesn’t stop Karesh, we all know what will happen to us. Both Saith planets are on high alert. Attacking that last planet, killing a royal family member...perhaps Saita should join…”

“Shh!” Myla hissed.

They sat in silence for a while before Myla said. “I never wanted any of this. I thought that once Saita was home, we could all be one big happy family.”

The water turned off and a few minutes later Saita emerged drying her hair. She was grimacing.

“What is wrong?” asked Jarah.

“Calves are cramping,” she muttered.

“Like I told you. You may feel that you don’t need to eat but your body still needs nutrients and salts. Eat your breakfast and I’ll have one of the nurses bring you something to drink that will replace your electrolytes.”

Though grumbling Saita ate her breakfast with no gusto while Jarah left the room. As soon as he left the room Saita turned to her mother and simply said. “I need to talk to Kiai.”


“Can we even trust her?”

“Barik, she is my cousin.”

“Your uncle is currently planning to make humans extinct, excuse me while I try to believe that the rest of your family isn’t trying to wipe out all life.”

Kiai reached over to hold the hand of an irate man. He seemed oblivious at first but then returned a quick squeeze. “We have worked so hard this last year. I cannot let it go to waste.”

“I know but if there is anyone who can eventually get through to Karesh it will be her.”

“I hope so for the sake of your people,” he said.

“Our people, Barik, yours and mine.”

Kiai had barely changed in all these years. She was still the gentle person she had always been but now, she was cautious and concerned for the lives of those under her. The man next to her; however, was not like that at all. He was not gentle. He was a fighter; a soldier and he had a hatred for Karesh that Kiai wished she could dispel from him.

“Your aunt risks much by sending her here.” He snapped as he released her hand. “I can’t trust her!”

“Then trust me. I would never put you or our son’s life in danger.”

The man relaxed visibly and then sighed. “I know.”

He wasn’t as tall as her. He had short cropped black hair, was extremely muscular, and was heavily scarred. He had fought in many battles in the past.
“Isn’t this the same cousin that was kidnapped?”

“Dear, she is the one your son is named after. That is how much I trust her.”

Barik snorted but finally relented when Kiai crossed her arms. “Okay, I’ll speak to her but if anything doesn’t go the way I want it to then I am going to take care of her.”

“You’d be so lucky,” interrupted a new voice.

Kiai spun and saw Saita had been brought to them. Kiai felt the blast of emotions from the young woman and couldn’t help the tears that came to her eyes.

“Oh, Saita!” She rushed the woman before Barik could stop her.

Kiai threw her arms around Saita’s neck and hugged her with all her might. “I’m sorry you went through what you did. I’m sorry I could not be there for you. I’m sorry I hid…”

Saita embraced her cousin and for the first time since she had started waking, she felt genuine love. “You had a right to hide and protect yourself. No one is to blame except me.”

“No!” Kiai pushed her away and shook her by her shoulders. “Edzeeker is to blame, not you. You were painted into a corner.”

Barik cleared his voice and Saita looked at him for the first time. She was well aware of the strength that ran through his veins. He was not used to feeling fear but that is what she smelt on him. Fear. Fear for him. Fear for his wife and fear for the small child that played not too far away. A child that looked to be a little younger than Saita’s twin siblings and sported a lovely black tail, that matched his hair.

“I see,” said Saita after some time inclining her head to Barik. “That is why you are staying out of Father’s clutches. He is Saith.”

“Is that going to be a problem?” growled Barik.

Saita ignored him and looked around herself. She had agreed to be led blindfolded to where she was now, so she wasn’t sure where she was. However, the walls were coated in metal and this was but one room of many she had sensed as she was marched below ground.

“Well?” growled the warrior.

“Kiai how on Earth did this happen?” Saita indicated to Barik, ignoring the warrior completely.

“Pura was trying to get more allies during the lizard wars and well we met up with the Saith. And you know the saying, one thing led to another and well, meet the another.” she stooped to pick up the dark-haired boy. “This our son, Saita.”

“You've got to be kidding!” Saita half grinned. “What did I do to have your firstborn named after me?”

“Excuse me?” Said Barik once more.

“I was a coward.” Said Kiai as she held the boy out to Saita. “I should have been there with Astec when it happened. I could have done something.”

Saita took the boy and looked at his blue eyes and grinned. “Kiai there was nothing you could have done. I blame no one but myself. You didn’t need to name your son after me because you felt guilty.”

“It’s a good name.” Said Barik. “Strength of wind, right?”

“If that were my true name then yes.” Saita looked at the black tail that wrapped around her arm. “Well, hello there little Saita.”

The boy squealed in joy and gripped her hair with a giggle. “Toss, toss!”

“That’s weird. I was just thinking that.” Saita smiled and gently tossed the boy into the air as his tail let go.

He giggled and after a few tosses, Saita set him on the ground and said. “Barik, you are a full-blooded Saith, yes?”

“I am.”

“What are you doing here?”

Barik glared at her and snarled. “This is my son. My wife. I will not abandon them.”

“You misunderstand my meaning.” Saita’s smile faded. “Why are you two leading the rebellion? Why isn't my cousin safe? Why isn’t your son safe?”

“You try and talk sense into this stubborn woman’s head.” snapped Barik. “She insisted…”

Kiai held a hand up and simply asked. “Saita, can I trust you?”

“That depends on what you want from this.” Saita sat down on a chair with a sigh. “Do you want to kill my father?”

“Yes,” growled Barik.

“NO!” exclaimed Kiai.

Barik glared at Saita. “Do you know what your father has done to try and get you back?”

“Barik!” hissed Kiai. “That is hardly her fault. Your kind has their own bloody history.”

Kiai turned to Saita and sat down. “I don’t want your father dead. I want him dethroned. I want Pura back on the throne. Hell, I’d even take Astec on the throne if it meant the end of this stupid war.”

“Then you know that the Kai are not at fault.”

“Saita, I am a sensitive. The moment you went missing I scoured that castle from top to bottom. I, like so many others, blamed the Kai but when I met one face to face...it was nothing like what had taken you. I thought we could reason with your father.”

“Yeah, I thought that too.”

The boy had come to stand next to Saita and insisted on sitting on her lap. She allowed it. He brought a strange comfort with him that made her feel better about everything. She watched Barik try to reach for the boy, but Kiai stopped him.

“Your son is a good judge of character. Leave him be.”

“Let him speak,” said Saita as she looked Barik in the eye. “He clearly has something he wants to get off of his chest.

“Damn right I do!”

“Barik!” Kiai warned him.

“My son may have your name but know that I do not have the trust in you that Kiai has. As far as I am concerned you are your father’s lackey and will bring all that we have worked for in the last year crashing down.”

Saita gripped the boy under his arms and returned him to his mother before getting to her feet. “Very well. I understand your reluctance in this matter. How do you propose we settle this?”

“I’m Saith.” He stated.

“I know,” said Saita sarcastically.

“He’s challenging you to a fight. Hand-to-hand combat,” said Kiai as she rolled her eyes. “Really Barik? She is a…”

“A fighter. Look at those eyes. Prove to me that I can trust you.” Barik puffed his chest out.

Saita rolled her eyes. “I do not have the time to play this game with you. If you cannot trust me what is the point of seeking you out?”

She got to her feet. “I’ll find another way to deal with this.”

However, as she turned to leave Barik gripped the back of her head and threw her through the door. The sound of Saita’s head slamming into the metal wall echoed loudly which was quickly followed by the thump as she fell over backwards.

“I told you that this was a mistake!”

“So that just happened.” Saita sat up before slowly getting to her feet.

She turned and looked Barik in the eye. “Alright Saith, you want a fight, I’ll give you one. Hand to hand? No force. Point me in the direction where I will not endanger your son or have your wife see what I am about to do to you.”

“Enough!” Kiai got to her feet. “I will not have you two fighting. We are family!”

“How am I supposed to trust her?” Demanded Barik.

Saita indicated that he should wipe his neck. Barik did this and felt blood. He paled a little.

“If I wanted you dead, you would be dead,” said Saita as she rubbed at her forehead. “Now, can we sit down, have something to drink and talk this over like we are adults and not bickering children.”



Saita always seems to fall into the thick of things, doesn't she? How will she and her cousin work together to overthrow Karesh? What else is in store for Saita, and will she ever get her memory back? Hell, does she want it back? I guess you'll all have to hang around to learn more.

For those of you just joining us, please note that this is the follow on book from Fell Dragon. Follow this link to read it
Fell Dragon Book 1

As the series continues, it will combine with another book series I wrote. To avoid confusion about what is happening, introductory chapters will be introduced separately so that you don't have to be lost. However, these chapters will contain spoilers. You can find these chapters here:
Races Explained

If you want to join the Reader's list, just ask or follow me for updates on this and my other stories.

Reader's List
@weone, @merenludick, @clairemobey, @therneau, @blitzzzz, @pravesho, @joetunex, @captainquack22, @irisworld, @braaiboy, @sketchygamerguy, @fuego-oscuro, @felt.buzz, @dibblers.dabs, @beeber, @brittandjosie, @tamacvet, @alonicus, @joetunex, @zakludick , @thinkrdotexe , @pixelhuntersam, @alonicus

Haven't read the other parts yet? Follow these handy links:
Part 8>>You are Here>>Part 10

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency