Fell Dragon Book 2 Part 8


Fell Dragon
Greetings Readers

Not gonna lie, it has been one rough week. My client is riding me on her book, which is fine if she actually followed the outline she gave me to do the book with. Sigh.

Anyway, enough grumbling from me, you all came for the next chapter of Fell Dragon, and here you are. Enjoy it!



Saita paced in the indoor gymnasium trying to think of what to do. She had lost her temper and had lost the only opportunity to speak to her father in some semblance of discussion. She didn’t know how she knew about the Kai and the Saith, but the species were deeply embedded in her mind. Her fury burned her skin and she glanced to see the edges of the marks once more becoming red.

“Anger fuels you too huh?” she muttered.

She then looked at the scorched ceiling and remembered that it had been her doing all those years ago.

“I screwed up,” she muttered at the ceiling. “It had been so simple to talk to him back then.”

She opened her right hand and made several bubbles of various forces then did the same with her left. There were a few that were instinctually made that she did not recognise. She had them fly around her as she continued to berate herself for not only losing her father but also Doran. There was no one else that could help her. How was she going to stop her father?

“Hey, there stranger. Not planning on letting those mix, right?”

The voice made her blush, and she released the force, separately, then turned to see Astec standing behind her. He was a little taller but overall, he looked exactly the same. A friendly face, that wanted nothing from her. Before she could stop herself, she strode forward to embrace him. He returned the bone-crushing hug for a few seconds before releasing her and saying. “God it is good to see you.”

“And you.” Saita looked beyond him to see a slightly shorter woman there.
She had short black hair, and bright green eyes and was waving at her. The white dress she was wearing was pulled well above her knees with the bulge in her gut.

“Boy or girl?” Saita asked.

“A boy. We’re going to name him after my father. He’ll be here soon.”

“My face may not show it but know that I am happy for you,” Saita whispered as she stepped back.

Astec made to open his mouth, but she stopped him. “I was declared dead. There was no reason to wait. It was a childhood romance that never really managed to get further than that one kiss.”

“I would have liked it to have gone further.” He whispered sadly.

“I know but for now introduce me.”

Astec introduced Saita to his wife, Lea, and they had a long chat over what had happened during those four years. Astec even brought up the fact that he had lost some time after Saita had been taken.

“Most doctors think I was simply so distraught over losing you I had a miniature breakdown.” He commented.

Saita blushed but said nothing. Lea put a hand on her arm and said. “It is okay. I know about the two of you.”

The woman half grinned. “Had someone else not named a child after you likely this one would have borne your name.”

She rubbed her distended belly. “Isn’t that right VB?”

“VB?” Saita looked to Astec. “I thought he was to be named after your father.”

“Viribus, VB for short. Lea likes it.”

“Has she met the one named after her yet?” Asked Lea.

“Lea, aren’t you late for your appointment?” Asked Astec suddenly.

“I know what you are up to mister.” She wagged a finger in his face. “Don’t think I’m clueless.”

“The fewer details you know the better for you.” He said softly.

“I know. I’ll see you for dinner. Myla is insisting on a family dinner.” Lea turned to Saita and said. “I have always wondered about you. I see why he took to you.”

“He is yours; you have no fear from me.”

Lea smiled kindly and lay a hand on Saita’s arm. She held it there for a while before taking her hand back and waddling off. Saita couldn’t help but chuckle a little before saying. “She looks like a penguin.”

She turned to Astec and said. “And the subterfuge, Cousin?”

“I heard about your fight with your father. We had hoped that if you had returned that he would see the light but clearly, he is too far gone.” Astec indicated that he wanted to go for a walk.

Saita followed him and eventually found herself with him in the forest where she had broken his arms. She suspected that he was thinking of the same thing because he shuddered suddenly and said. “I hardly hear the stutter in your voice now as you speak.”

“I stuttered?”

“A little when you were younger. You seemed to have adopted the way of speaking as when you were angry back then.”

“Hmm.”

“Anyway, your father and his intense desire to rule everything. We need to talk about it.”

“I screwed up. I was so angry. Our meeting dissolved into a screaming match and now if I dare to leave this planet, I stand the risk of being banished.”

“I heard from your mother. It is why I am here. I need Lea in a safe place while I…” He took a deep breath and said. “While I convince you to sacrifice yourself once more.”

Saita viewed him wearily and indicated that she wanted to know more. They continued to walk more as Astec told her more.

“Less than a year after you were gone, very soon after Kristen and Barbara were born my uncle suddenly stepped down from the throne and vanished.”

“What?”

“Neither my father nor aunt knew where he had gone. My grandfather had tried to get answers from the castle but then he too mysteriously vanished.”

“This isn’t like what happened to me is it?” She queried.

“I do not think that it is quite so nefarious,” he whispered. “No, we strongly suspect that Pura’s supposed passing on of the throne was Karesh’s idea.”

“No...I mean Dad is being a dick but killing Pura? I can’t see that.”

“I don’t think he was killed but I do believe that if we search enough then we will be able to find where he is hidden.”

“We?”

“This war is wrong Saita. The Kai had tried again and again to tell us they had no idea who you were, much less taken you. For the first year, people were so angry and hate led to things most don’t want to admit to. Even Saseric believes there is something else driving this war.” He waved at something in the air and continued. “You were the catalyst so even finding you wouldn’t have ended what Karesh is doing.”

“What are you proposing?”

“Nothing. I need you to listen first.” He continued to walk without looking at her. “I do not know what you went through. I don’t even know if you are the Saita that surprised me with my first kiss, but I know you are strong because I sense it in you.”

He traced several lines down his arms and said. “You may hide them with your clothes, but I feel the burning energy that lies under your skin.”

“But how? You aren't a sensitive!” She hissed.

“Some things can develop later in life,” he said. “So, this is where the sacrifice on your part comes in.”

“I cannot betray my father,” she said. “I can yell and scream as much as I want to, but I am not going to go against him.”

“The Saith are starting to amass on two fronts Saita.” Hissed Astec as he turned to look her dead in the eye. “They do not just have one massive planet but two. Your father stupidly killed a very important son of the royal family. It’s the Lizard-Mammal war all over again.”

“Well, what do you want me to do? I cannot just take the throne from him you know.”

“By ancient right, you can.”

“I am no longer heir, Kristen is, and he is only three.”

“He’s three and a half, roughly but not my point.” he looked up towards the canopy of leaves above him. “If we find Pura, he can reclaim the throne.”

“Not if he abdicated.”

“That is where you come in.” Astec motioned for them to walk again.

“I don’t understand.”

“You were declared dead. You have no family, no ties, technically” He said softly after some time. “You can challenge your father for the throne.”

“Are you insane!?” Saita shouted. “You are asking me to kill my father in combat and then what? Hand the throne back to Pura?”

“Or take the throne for yourself. Either way, the King needs to be dethroned.”
“I brought him back, I am not going to kill him!”

Astec sighed heavily and said. “I’m glad that your vote is similar to ours.”

“What?”

“It may sound somewhat cliché but there is a rebel group who wants Karesh off the throne in favour of returning Pura. Some wish for the current King’s death while others feel that he has simply lost his mind due to grief and needs a hard reset. He doesn’t need to die but maybe a hard knock to the head could make him remember why he started all of this to begin with.”

“Now I am really confused.”

“Before I tell you any more Saita I need to know if you are with us. Can I rely on you to help us?”

“I don’t even know what you want to do or who is us.”

“Can I trust you?” He said as he stopped in his tracks.

“Can I trust you?” She retorted.

Astec turned and grinned. “Neither of us has a choice it would seem.”


Saita lay in her hospital bed while Jarah was typing away at his computer. She was staring at the ceiling for a long time before Jarah commented. “I can smell the plastic burning. What has your cogs turning so fast?”

Saita looked out the window and saw it had been dark for some time and she sighed. “You do not need to babysit me, Jarah. You can go home.”

“Bah, it is only 2 a.m. I’m used to burning the midnight oil.” He continued to type at the computer. “So? What are you thinking about?”

“How I messed today up with my father,” she muttered.

Jarah only nodded his head and continued to work away into the night. Saita sighed and closed her eyes for a few minutes. She wasn't tired. She was never tired, and it bothered her. She had always liked to sleep and now that joy had been taken from her. She couldn’t even enjoy food. She put her hands behind her head and tried to get comfortable. There was a dull thud of pain from the surgical site at the side of her head and it irritated her.

“I told you to take the medicine,” said Jarah. “If you are going to grunt in pain but not take what I give you then I do not want to hear you complain.”

“Your concoctions don’t work on me. You needed Beatrice just to get me to sleep.” She half snapped as she opened an eye.

“I used Beatrice because she could guarantee a dreamless sleep where I could not. Preventing you from feeling pain is something I have perfected my dear. Now take the pills and stop grunting in pain. You sound like a wounded water buffalo.”

Sighing, the woman sat up and spied the cup next to the bed. It contained two white tablets and it stood next to some water in another glass. She flipped the pills into her mouth and then washed them down with some water.

“Bitter,” she said.

“Not too much I can do about the taste.”

“This better not have a narcotic in it.” She grumbled as she lay back in the bed.

“It is not my job to drug you. Just ease your pain.” Jarah yawned and stretched. “If I don’t get home soon my wife will kill me.”

He got to his feet as he turned the computer off. He had learned his lesson in keeping it on around Saita, even though the damage had already been done. He turned to look at the woman staring at the ceiling. “You should get some exercise.”

That caught Saita’s attention and she looked and him in confusion. “Excuse me?”

“Well, it’s a theory but if these marks are a crystalized form of energy, then maybe if you are expending energy they will slow in their growth or be reversed.” He pulled his jacket on.

“Maybe yes,” she smiled a little. “Where is your mask, Jarah?”

“I thought after what happened you would prefer to see faces as they are and not hidden from view. I leave it at home. I am, after all, your private physician.” He picked his bag up and paused.

“Yes?” to Saita it seemed like he wanted to say more.

Jarah dug around in his bag and pulled out a notebook. He grabbed a pen from the desk and handed both to Saita.

“And this?”

“For when you dream, and you cannot tell us what you see.” he simply said. “Good night, Saita.”

Then he left the room leaving Saita with even more confusion. The girl shook her head and placed the book next to the bed and once more stared at the ceiling.

“Speak to Kiai. She is waiting for you.”

That is what Astec had told her. Kiai would tell her everything about what was needed. But it would mean betraying her father. She knew he had not meant those harsh words he had used on her. They had hurt a lot, but they were meant to get a rise out of her, and they had worked. Astec had been adamant that she does not tell anyone about this. Karesh had ears everywhere and nowhere was safe.

Saita thought to go to the Kai herself and explain everything, but she quickly scrapped that idea. If she did something so stupid it would likely lead to them trying to use her against her father. Even if she went there, they would have no idea who she was at first and likely seeing a human on their planet they would likely attack first and ask questions later.

She rolled to her left to look out the window. There was the Saith, but she didn’t want to tangle with them. Memories told her that they were ridiculously powerful, and their ruler had an ability that could crack a planet like an egg. She tossed over to her other side and watched the foot traffic out in the hall. It was light as it was early morning, mostly night staff that were checking on other patients on this floor.

She almost considered going to her father, making him believe that she was willing to help then interrupting the fighting in some way. She knew that would lead to even more deaths and the possibility of being branded a traitor before all humans. She already wasn’t like them; she didn’t need to give them more reason to find fault with her.

“Where would I even begin looking for Kiai?” she muttered to herself.

“Just let me know that I can trust you.” That was what Astec had said before he had left her in the forest to consider her options.

She returned to the hospital after that. She hadn’t wanted to cause more trouble for her mother, who she knew was trying to kill the flames Saita had started with her father. She reached back for a spare pillow and cradled it in her arms for a few minutes before she closed her eyes.

“What am I going to do?”



Tough spot to be in. I don't envy Saita for a minute.

For those of you just joining us, please note that this is the follow on book from Fell Dragon. Here is the link to that book:
Fell Dragon Book 1

As the series continues, it will combine with another book series I wrote. To avoid confusion about what is happening, introductory chapters will be introduced separately so that you don't have to be lost. However, these chapters will contain spoilers. You can find these chapters here:
Races Explained

If you want to join the Reader's list, just ask or follow me for updates on this and my other stories.

Reader's List
@weone, @merenludick, @clairemobey, @therneau, @blitzzzz, @pravesho, @joetunex, @captainquack22, @irisworld, @braaiboy, @sketchygamerguy, @fuego-oscuro, @felt.buzz, @dibblers.dabs, @beeber, @brittandjosie, @tamacvet, @alonicus, @joetunex, @zakludick , @thinkrdotexe , @pixelhuntersam, @alonicus

Haven't read the other parts yet? Follow these handy links:
Part 7>>You are Here>>Part 9

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency