Mocha Joe’s

Mocha Joe’s

Page break.png
STIRRING THE BEANS

01_STIRRING THE BEANS.JPG
Page break.png
It was that kind of café. Can I score a spot on the over-sized couch backing the wall cornered to the wall of window? This was always forefront in my mind, since it was the hot spot seating. Only area with a couch, tucked into a large corner. Best views of all the action inside and outside on the corner of two major city streets.

This was before the standard of eyes soul sucked into black mirror screens bound by ear bud occupation. It was a time when people still actually looked at one another, spoke, and interacted in a natural flow.
Page break.png
CINNAMON COFFEE

02_CINNAMON COFFEE.JPG
Page break.png
Guaranteed company, conversation, entertainment, laughs, great unending coffee and food that hit the target every time without being overpriced. It was the neighbourhood hangout. If you don’t know big cities, you wouldn’t know that they are comprised of a multitude of ‘neighbourhoods’. People get to know one another, even if it’s only recognizing each other on sight.

For several years, I lived just a five minute walk from Mocha Joe’s. I haunted it every weekend. There were almost always a dozen or so friends there, others dropping in, coming and going. I knew the owners. They were also part of my social circle at the time. Sometimes I’d stop in on my way home from work during the week. Holidays made for an extra coffee lounging day.

My partner also spent time there with me and socialized there on his own. I brought friends from other social circles there. I even took my sketchbook with me regularly and drew while I was there. Drawing people in public is an old habit of mine. It’s excellent practice and trains the eye fast.
Page break.png
CINNAMON CREAMY ESPRESSO

03_CINNAMON CREAMY ESPRESSO.JPG
Page break.png
There are so many memories from that time. I can still see the light brown of the couch, feel it under me as I’m leaning on the table, taking a sip of my coffee. My sketchbook is sitting to the side. I’m surrounded by familiar faces I shared so many special times with. We’re talking, smiling, and laughing while we each savour our selected coffee favourites. Hugs and good-byes when it’s time to leave.

Mocha Joe’s hasn’t existed now for several years. I haven’t lived in that neighbourhood for several years. Before I wrote this post, I went back to visit where it used to be. It’s now an Asian restaurant and for some reason, all the flair and life is gone from the place. It melts into the rest of the building, looking bland. That magic and warmth left when Mocha Joe’s ceased to exist. The memories are stored away in my mind. All I need to do is push play and I’m there again, holding the most delicious triple shot latte ever.
Page break.png
MEMORIES

04_MEMORIES.JPG
Page break.png
All photos taken by Nine with a Pentax digital 35mm camera and 90mm Tamron macro lens.
Page break.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
120 Comments
Ecency