Wohoo! Unexpected Coffee Deals

Hey coffee lovers! It’s me, your caffeine addict girl is back!

IMG_20211010_140535.jpg

image.png

Hmmm so… where do I start?

It was just a regular Thursday when I wanted to purchase some beans, preferably pike place from Starbucks. So, I went to the nearest mall with starbucks to get the beans. But before I got it, I was distracted for a few hours. The mall was unusually crowded unlike the previous days. It took me a while to finally get into Starbucks and get the business done. I even had to queue for about 20 minutes because two girls in front of me were asking the barista about loads of questions. I don’t know about you but whenever I try getting into an unfamiliar place, I would always youtube it to see the situation, how I should order, react, prepare, and everything. I just like to be prepared and not embarrass myself or even make other people wait; Since I don’t want people to wait for me either. Anyway, after those two girls were chatting away with the barista, it was my turn.

It took about 10 minutes because the barista was checking the stock of pike place medium roast. Apparently, they ran out of it. And while I was touching the blond roast, the barista asked me “ do you want these?” while showing Brazilian beans and also sulawesi beans. “ We are having a deal!”

I mean, who doesn’t want a deal? My coffee budget for the week is gonna be under 9$ and I was expecting to spend that much. I asked “ is that medium or dark roast?. Then the cute barista replied, “ medium roast and you can also choose either you want it to be two Brazilian or with this Sulawesi”. I replied “ alright, here’s my card. I want one Brazilian and another Toraja Sapan Village”. The cashier swiped my card then said, “ that’d be 17.57$. My expression changed a bit as it was way above my coffee budget. But, then I was like, “ it’s okay that’ll last me for a while or I can share it with the neighbor who is a barista. And seem to fancy some foreign coffees.

So, there I was, bringing two bags of coffee beans each with 250g of beans. The bag is black with golden ink that makes it look luxurious with an addition of copper lining.

IMG_20211010_140613.jpg

In the bag, it has some information about the company profile and why they are roasting these beans. Another thing is that this comes with a paperclip and a paper with the coffee information. For example, the one I got, sulawesi toraja sapan village is a coffee that is processed wet-hulled (semi washed). According to that paper, it is used because it is more suited to the climate and the humidity of the place. Additionally, interesting information that I can tell you from the paper is that this coffee is using ancient techniques where cherries from small plots of land are picked then dried the beans on woven mats.

IMG_20211010_140729.jpg

In the paper it is also mentioned that the beans is S795 varietal which according to wikipedia, it is a coffee leaf rust resistant Arabica and hybrid between Arabica and Liberica. By now, I wonder how many bean varieties there that I have not tried, probably dozens! Considering that there are hybrid varieties as well. This one apparently has smooth creamy with notes of leaf tobacco, nuts and chocolate, just the way I often like my coffee to be. Also, when I opened and smelled it, the coffee smelled more like tobacco leaf. This one is thankfully a medium roast too.

image.png

IMG_20211010_140657.jpg

Another one that I got from the deal is Brazilian Sun dried beans from Isidro pereira estate. This one is drying using a process called sun-drying where the cherries are drying under the sun. This coffee is specially from a cultivation place owned 90by the Isidro family. If you want to know more about the story of this bean, here’s the link to it Fazenda IP.

IMG_20211010_140714.jpg

Basically, the owner wants to refine the cherries from the sun dried process. Now, the one that I have is basically the result of Isidro’s family experimentation with the coffee. According to the paper I received, it said that this one has cocoa, brown sugar and soft pineapple notes with syrup mouthfeel. The variety of the bean is yellow bourbon planted in Carmo De Minas Brazil. When I first opened the bag, I could smell a hint of pineapple and not so much cocoa. So when I first brewed it, the body was light, less acidic with a smell of soft pineapple. Among the other two, I have only tried the Brazilian one. When I am comparing it to Brazilian santos, I taste a huge difference and I would say that this bean from the Isidro pereira estate is one of the best Brazilian coffees I have ever tasted.

image.png

IMG_20211010_161851.jpg

If you ever find yourself wanting to try something new, I would recommend trying Brazilian coffee especially from Isidro Pereira State. Who would have thought that now, I would fall in love with it more than the other coffees I have tried.Stay curious about coffee, because you never know where it will lead you!

image.png

Hope You Enjoyed This article!



image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency