I am large, I contain multitudes

This is my entry for #monomad challenge by @monochromes

Abetone, Appennino between Tuscany and Emilia Romagna region, north Italy.

The following image shows a wood in Val di luce (Valley of Light).
This image contains multitudes, like ourselves. Inside our soul, many people inhabit: our ancestors, together with all the parts of us. Some parts in harmony, some others in conflicts. We aim to integrate all our parts, to create the masterpiece of life. Unique, deeply vast.

I love also how trees, together with their shadows, create a pattern. Photography can transform reality: our eyes can change the world, generating new shapes, reflecting our personal sensibility.

Here a piece of a poem by Walt Whitman:

"Do I contradict myself?
Very well then I contradict myself,
(I am large, I contain multitudes.)"

"Mi contraddico?
Ebbene sì. Mi contraddico.
(Sono vasto, contengo moltitudini.)"
(italian translation)

I like to consider one human being smart on the base of how many times it changes its mind. Usually, more times we change opinions and thoughts, without changing our essence, smarter we are. Not a general rule, only an empirical rule.

A lonely wood surrounded by skiers tracks:

A connection between Earth and the sky, matter and spirit:

Faraway, the shining Mediterranean sea, like a dream made of light:

Hills edge and cable cars:

Mount Cimone:

Watch the same places in color here: Abetone in winter

Pictures taken with Sony Alpha 7iii and Nikon D800.
31.01.2023

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency