The Pathless | First Impressions | I'm in love with this game | Indie Games

If you read my previous post about Arise - A Simple Story, you will know that I am passionate about indie or independent studio games. Every week I want to share a post related to any indie game I'm testing or do a full review, after finishing a game. I have pending the review of Arise, but I could not wait to finish that game without trying The Pathless, a game that has captivated me since the first minute of play and I could not wait more to tell you how has been the experience in the first hour of play

The first thing we should know about The Pathless game is that it was developed by Giant Squid, a video game development company founded by Matt Nava, who was the person behind the development of Journey and Flower, two games that broke records for what they innovated. Giant Squid is behind the development of Abzû, a game that activates all your senses. When you see that The Pathless has been developed by Giant Squid, you leave any doubt behind because you know you will get a good game. The Pathless is classified as an adventure game and was released on November 12 of this year for the PS4, PS5, Windows, MAC and iOS platforms.

I have started this adventure and the first thing that surprised me is that there are texts that tell you a little bit about what is happening. This surprised me because it is not common in this type of games to tell you the story, you must go putting together each puzzle and discover what is happening. The other thing that surprised me is that there are voices and dialogues. Apart from that, we started without much explanation sitting on a boat and arriving at a sort of island. Without further ado, we began to move.

The standard settings of the camera made me completely dizzy. I recommend you to lower the speed of the camera's movement so that the environment doesn't maintain that blurred effect that can be annoying at certain times. As we move forward, we discover that we can use a bow and shoot energy crystals that recharge you with an energy bar and that energy allows you to run and jump. The crystals are essential for moving through the wide world, because it's so big and without these crystals, it would take too much time to be able to move through each of the areas.

As I ran around the world, I felt like I was playing Shadow of the Colossus. To a certain extent, the game has a kind of similar atmosphere and because of the information that has been revealed, I will have to help or fight against certain giant beasts. The fact is that shortly after starting to play we discovered a giant eagle and we started a series of puzzles to help it. At this point the game traps you completely in a mystery for knowing what is really happening.

That mystery is gradually clarified, when you meet the god killer and a kinematics with dialogues that reveal a little of the history of the game and that in particular I loved. At this point, we meet an eagle that will accompany us during the game and help solve the difficulties to save everyone.

The Pathless, is a game that from minute 1, creates a mountain of emotions. This game fills you with intrigue for wanting to know more, accompanied by a soundtrack that even now is perfect. I will only leave a few more images to awaken your curiosity and the trailer, it is up to you if you want to venture into this adventure that has caused in me an excellent first impression.

From 1 to 10, in everything I've played, I give it a 9. After finishing the game, I will share a complete and more detailed review.

If you are already playing the game, what did you think of it?


Gaming Divice: PC with CPU AMD rayzen 7, 8gb RAM DDR4, Sapphire Radeon Rx580+ 8gb.

All images were taken directly from the game. Cover image made in power point. The screenshots were taken with Radeon Software gaming in the Windows version of the game.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency