Arise - A Simple Story | First impressions | A journey through our memories

I have started playing Arise - A Simple Story and it has been a wonderful experience. Every time I like to play indie or independent games, they are out of the ordinary and give you a unique experience. If not, you can go play some of these games: Journey, ABZ脹, Sky, GREY, Ori and the Blind Forest, Cuphead, Forgotton Anne, Unravel, Inside, Machinarium, RiME, Lost Ember, Fe, etc. I think I got excited mentioning game and missed a lot, so I will share reviews of indie games later.

The first thing I saw when I started playing Arise - A Simple Story, was a funeral where an old man was being cremated. Without advancing almost anything in the game, I understood that it was the funeral of the main character and that he has awakened in another dimension where we will be playing his memories. Somehow the game catches you right away and you connect with the memories of the main character. You could say that you begin to reflect on your life as well.


The music from the first minute is great. Start playing with a good sound system and the music is so relaxing and reflective at the same time, that the game starts to be a whole visual and auditory experience that steals all your attention. Without dialogues, without anyone explaining what is happening, we will go forward with the main character and relive each of his memories, memories that remind you of a first love, a loss of a loved one, the happiness of being a child, loneliness and a good amount of feeling and experience that are part of life.

Arise - A Simple Story is an adventure and platform game, where you don't have to be an expert to learn how to control the character. To move freely, to jump and a button of action, will be the necessary thing to face all this adventure. The innovation is that we will be able to control the time, and it is one of the interesting characteristics of this game. While we play each one of the memories of the main character, we will be able to advance and to go back in the time. This will be vital to be able to overcome the small puzzles and thus overcome each stage.

Throughout each stage there are collectible objects, a reason to explore well every place in every memory. But the most important thing is to collect the memories. Each memory is like a kind of drawing and these drawings are the ones that will allow you to understand what is happening in each memory that you will play. I can tell you that, just by playing 3 stages, Arise - A Simple Story is a story that has me captivated and connected to the game in a unique sentimental way.

Although I haven't finished this game, I recommend it 100%. I had been delayed in playing it because of the release of Genshin Impact and its vast amount of things to do. The good thing is that I've reached a point where I'm back to my normal video game life hahaha. Arise - A Simple Story is a game charged with feelings, that manages from the first moment to make you remember aspects in your life that you would love to have back. A beautiful visual aspect and with a musical section, you will travel through the memories of the protagonist and if everything goes well, you will also travel through your memories.

I know that this game has many secrets and I still have a lot to discover, but I am so excited that I could not stop writing to tell you about it. Later, when I finish it completely, I will make a more detailed review in a new segment of indie games that I want to start.


Gaming Divice: Pc with CPU AMD rayzen 7, 8gb RAM DDR4, Sapphire Radeon Rx580+ 8gb.

All images were taken directly from the game. first image and last image.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency