Obscure and Rare 80s Hip Hop Records I Found In New Orleans

I was traveling in New Orleans last month and had a day to spend at a couple record shoppes! Here are some of my finds, some interesting 80s hip hop records that I would pretty much bet my pinky that you have never heard before....check it out!

PXL_20230427_033419885~2.jpg

Chatsworth & Burt
Preppy Rap(Do the alligator 🐊)
1981

Wow, an early rap exploitation-era novelty song about wearing preppy alligator shirts? Was unfamiliar with this one (because I'm a human being in the planet Earth), but now the chorus had been in my head for weeks! I might even just have to go shopping at the Gap this weekend! I'm pretty sure this was a disco producer cashing in on that new "rap" fad... I wonder if people still listen to that rap music??

Fresh Force
"She's A Skeezer"
1986

...Wow, another hip hop novelty song? This one coming in from the mid 1980s with a parody of RUN DMC's "My Adidas.". I only had to hear two seconds of this song before I knew that I had to grab it! I didn't know of any parodies if the KINGS OF ROCK...I mean, that's like making fun of the Beatles!

OK...I just did a shallow dive on the Fresh Force, and it is non other than an early incarnation of rappers turned Hollywood actors, Kid N Play! I'm not a huge fan of theirs to say the least,and have never even seen any of their movies, but I guess it shows that they always had that playfulness they are known for.

The Showboys
"Cold Frontin'"
1985

Now here's a group that was on RUN DMC's label, Profile records, a classic 80s label known for is many hip hop records.
Thinking I wouldn't find much about this group, I was surprised and impressed to hear that one of their other records, Drag rap, had been notoriously sampled in lots of southern rap "bounce" music and they have never been payed from it, even suing the record label. "Industry rule number
number 4,080 record: company people are shady."

The Def Boys
"Caution"
1988

The Def Boys are a "no hit wonder" group signed to Major League Baseball player, Darryl Strawberry's record label (executive producer) and this is there line single. Although they did later surface under another name. Doing a search, I don't find a link to the record, but someone apparently bought the original reel to reel tape at a garage sale...with two unreleased songs. Amazing! It's actually a pretty good record, I love that 80s raw "in your face" sound with funky beats and hits. Also, I didn't know that Darryl Strawberry was 6'6".... Wow. What a blunder Monty Burns made in that softball championship he made as coach, replacing Darryl with Homer Simpson.

Thanks for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency