Vintage Cheques, Photos And Window Blinds - Day 33 - The 100 Day Project

Day 33 of The 100 Day Project is a Thursday which usually means I have a full morning in the attic. However, today didn't work out like that as I had a hair appointment first thing. I had to get back from there by bus, which I hadn't planned for, which added an extra hour to the journey home. That meant I wasn't ready for attic art until just gone 12 and Rosanna was only able to join me for an hour or so.

We didn't get much creating done together but ended up booking a trip to London for a late birthday present for me. We're going to see 'Latent Spaces', an immersive experience of the fusion between art and technology. The plan is to catch the train to London and then walk along the Thames to Canary Wharf where the expereince is, taking in brunch along the way. Can't wait.


image.png
Image from 'Latent Spaces'

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

After Rosanna left I got down to "work" and started off with a quick inspiration walk'. This time I found some old bank cheques dated 1954. Soooooo cool. That was in the day when banks returned cheques to the payer. I think they might have been called drawers back then.

1000009932.jpg

I love finding all this stuff I'd forgotten I'd collected. Most of it came from a house clearance stall at the local Sunday Market. They used to give stuff away at the end and no-one, apart from me was ever interested in the paper ephemera. I suppose to most people it's just junk.

Looking at it again makes me sorely tempted to return to my Sunday Market treasure hunts but I already have more items than I can use so I must resist. I hate to think of this rich history ending up in landfill though.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I had an idea to include some vintage photogrpahs in these clusters but I struggled to make it work. That is until I took a deep breath and took my scissors to them. Smaller focal points was what was needed rather the whole photo.
1000009933.jpg

These are actually old family photos and it wasn't easy to use them in a cluster. I had to remind myself that they only made it to the attic because they are one of many or had some damage or were very badly taken etc. If they were a one off they wouldn't be here. None the less, looking at them made me very nostalgic.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

The next thing I found was a number of packets of what I'm guessing is window blind samples. I have no idea where I got these from but I know I bought them rather than scavenged them.

1000009931.jpg

I'd like to use them in a different project at some point. I can't think what, but the fact that thery are stiffer than normal fabric and probably waterproof means I ought to be able to think of something a bit different to do with them.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

All together I created 4 more clusters and stuck them in the cluster book .

1000009965.jpg

Each cluster consists of a strip of a vintage cheque, a strip of fabric torn from an old curtain (also found at the Sunday Market), a strip of the blind samples, a scrap of hand printed paper on an old book page, reclaimed thread and a strip taken from the old photos, all backed onto some gold tissue paper scavanged from a luxury food hamper.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

P.S. I actually wrote a lot more detail on the construction phase of these clusters, including a story of the cluster that never was, but somehow I managed to lose the draft again. šŸ˜­ I don't have the time or energy to rewrite it now but you get the general idea anyway.

~ ~ ~ ~

You can now read all of this Project's posts in one place by visiting the
The 100 Day Project - 2024 - Collection.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~
šŸ’š Thanks to all those cheering me on. Your support is very much appreciated. šŸ’š
@jacey.boldart @denmarkguy @alchemystones @steevc @shanibeer @stickupboys @nickydee @lizelle

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency