F.R.I.D.A.Y bot update

FRIDAY update.jpg

A week ago, I lamented the demise of @ginabot and introduced you to F.R.I.D.A.Y. bot. At the same time, I included an explainer and, what I hoped, was some constructive criticism. The point of this update is to confirm that, indeed, our pleas were heard and not only can one follow monitor up to 30 accounts (not up to 35 - which was my need and wish), but the front end is also much improved.

I do think there's even more room for improvement, but I'm not going to be a grinch because the devs, @deathwing and @rishi made these and other fantastic changes in double quick time and are promising more.

So, before I properly begin, to them:

untitled.gif

Another foreword

Because it's annoying to have to click through to previous posts (and I've learned that most people are lazy and don't, I'm including much of the explainer from that original post and am changing the updated information at the relevant points.

How to use F.R.I.D.A.Y. bot

1. Register

Register on Discord using this link. It takes you here:

image.png

  • Then, leave that channel and begin a private DM with F.R.I.D.A.Y BOT.

  • register your own account by typing:

/register

to get this:

image.png

Then you type in your account handle.

You begin using F.R.I.D.A.Y. bot by monitoring your own account.

2. Monitoring (following) other accounts

Register the accounts you want to monitor in exactly the same way as you registered your own. How to choose your settings comes in 3 below.

A glitch that wasn't

When I registered the additional accounts, I got this error message in Discord:

image.png

I was annoyed, but as everything else seemed to be working, and in frustration, I went to my settings page (see 3 below) to discover the accounts had, in fact, registered.

Note: F.R.I.D.A.Y BOT only lets you follow 30 accounts.

3. Settings

  • In the DM with your new bot best friend, type

/settings

to get -

image.png

And then click the link which takes you to this page in your browser:

image.png

Here you can click the Hive tab and it takes you to another screen of clickable tabs or you can click on show all to get this:

image.png

Here you chose which operations from the selected account you’d like to monitor: your own and others’.

Personally, I’m not interested being notified for more than just posts for other folks’ accounts. For my own, I’d like to know about mentions and a couple of other things. Update the options accordingly.

Tips:

  • There are already some operations that are selected by default.
    One of the ones NOT selected is posts. So, depending on the operations you want to know about, for your account or your tribe's, be selective otherwise you'll be bombarded with notifications.
  • There is no bulk save option so make sure that you save the settings for each account and look out for this:

image.png

4. What about #tags, words and other things?

To discover a range of different commands, and for specifically following hashtags, go back to your F.R.I.D.A.Y bot DM and use the ubiquitous forward slash:

Type in

/

wait a little and you get this:

image.png

Scroll down and you'll find options like /monitortag, /words and a whole lot more.

A last word

As the bot is developed, I will try to keep this explainer updated. If the changes are minor and mostly intuitive, I shan't. If you think I should update and/or provide clearer explanations, please do let me know!

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency