Oh Crap Say it isn't so!!

Hello friends and Hivers. I hope all is well with everyone today. Today I write about a procedure I have scheduled for this upcoming Monday. It really is something I have dreaded to get done. I have already cancelled getting it done once before but it's something that has to get done. Well what procedure is it you may ask?

It's a colonoscopy and it's common for us middle aged individuals to get scheduled for them. When you reach a certain age check ups and procedures happen more often. The thought of what is actually done during this procedure alarms me a little. A long flexible tube (colonoscope) is used and inserted into rectum. This allows the doctor to view the entire area of the colon since it has a tiny video camera at the tip. A necessary procedure to look for changes in tissue, abnormal things and possibly detect early forms of cancer. Thank goodness I will be knocked out and won't have memories of being violated .

Some of the preparation things that are required of me I'm simply not looking forward to. I'll tell you in a bit what they are. If you haven't figured it out yet this is my first time getting this procedure done. I'm just feeling a little over the edge about the whole thing. Is it Tuesday already, haha?

Now I made this appointment sometime in February I think. I got something in the mail from the clinic a few days later and I didn't open it up until this Monday. I was initially told to review instructions a week out when I made the appointment. The thought of everything in my mind didn't make me all that curious to look at it two months beforehand.

I received a call yesterday from the hospital. They just wanted to know if I got instructions and had some pre-procedural questions for me. I provided them with the information they needed and they also asked if I had any questions. I really didn't have any as they outlined pretty well on what to expect. Today I got a call from the office that the doctor works for. I missed the call but rest assured I will call them back later today.

Alright let me tell you about my preparation requirements. Five days out (starts tomorrow) I can not have any nuts, popcorn, seeds or any products containing granola. I will miss almonds which I have for snacks often. The day before (Sunday) the procedure I have to be on a clear liquid diet. I can't consume liquids that are red, purple or blue. I have to drink liquids every hour throughout the day. No solid food, no alcohol and no recreational drug use. The last two no problem I don't drink and do not undertake in drugs.

Starting at 5:00 p.m. also on the day before the procedure is when I get to start drinking some Nulytely (prep). This liquid aids with the bowel preparation (cleansing) so an effective colonoscopy can be done. I have to drink an 8 ounce glass every 10 minutes until 1/2 of the prep is gone. From what I'm told an increase in bowel movements happens fairly quickly once the drinking starts. At 8:00 p.m. I have to take two Gas-X tablets. An hour later I need to take two more.

Now the day of the procedure I have to drink some more of the prep starting within 6 hours of my arrival time at the hospital. I'm suppose to have this all down within 2 hours. My arrival time is 8:00 a.m. so I'm not expecting much sleep and I'm sure more time will be spent in the bathroom versus the bedroom. All during this time I have to monitor my stools, it's suppose to end up looking like lemonade. Sorry hope I didn't ruin anybody's thinking of drinking the real thing, haha.

Now the actual procedure is a quick one. Even though I have to be there at 8:00 a.m. the procedure isn't scheduled until 9:30 a.m. Once started I have been told it only takes about 15 minutes. I will go to a recovery room afterwards. I'm expected to be there for about 60-90 minutes until the anesthesia wears off.

Well I'm not stoked at all to get this done. I do however realize it's something that needs to be done. I hope not to have any horror stories to tell you. Actually it will best to not mention any more about it, haha.

That's all I got for you this time. Take care, stay safe and enjoy the rest of your week. Until next time!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
37 Comments
Ecency