"How great to have power!" - My resourceful mother is not powerless when storms kill the electricity

Gardening, cooking, canning: I gave up trying years ago,

but Mom is going strong even when faced with a power outage in the midst of canning tomatoes. So I am purloining her stories and photos to share here, to celebrate Mom the Pioneer.

image.png

image.png

"Such a lot going on here,"

she posted on social media.

"Bad storm Tuesday broke tree off and light pole. "

I had tomatoes in jars to can and no power. So I got twigs and a few dry boards in barn and made a fire in Weber grill and got them done.

"Today REC was here over 2 hours and got new pole in and wires back,

How great to have power again,

Then the tree crew came and cleaned up the branches in no time with a big claw machine. I have pictures on Kindle but won't let me put them on here. Will try tomorrow. Lots of corn went flat too.

image.png

image.png

No power = NO RUNNING WATER for rural well owners.

Mom, you left out the part where you salvaged water from the dehumidifier for the kettle where you boil the jars to can tomatoes. #Resourceful #Enterprising #Undaunted

Up next: APPLES - she will be peeling, slicing, freezing (or dehydrating) hundreds of 'em, and I need to get myself up there soon to help out. (Photo taken last year by my sister

image.png

Here she is in 2016 in another photo taken by the same sister:

image.png

And in 2015 (Dad is sitting on one of her quilts) with my sister Lori--and Mom looking hale and hearty:
image.png

Mom is 84 now but you'd never know it.

She seems barely a day older than me.

Never in my life have I attempted to can tomatoes or anything else. What a schlub!

image.png

image.png

CANNING TOMATOES | Hot Bath Method

YOU GO, MOM!!!

And I need to follow your lead with gardening, canning, and all-around resourcefulness.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency