Allotment24 - The Veg is In, The Beds Are Nearly Full, Full Systems Go!!!

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.55.48 (2).jpeg

Phew! What a few weeks it has been down at the plot. All of the plants are now in the ground and some space left for successional sowing.

I've had a busy few weeks visiting Family & Friends now that restrictions have lifted in Wales and I must admit I didn't think id get everything done at one point. Thankfully my nearest and dearest have volunteered some of their time to help get everything done.

I have increased the volume of plants I am growing, however sadly the size of my house and the growing area has remained the same, therefore some of my plants this year were grown and kindly provided by Stuart and some of the local Garden Centre.

You can see Stuart's rather impressive plots here!

I am going to do an overview of each bed for you. I like having 4 quadrants as I find it easier to rotate each year.

Bed 1

Onions - These are the Radar White Onions, I grew from sets last year however nowhere near as many. These seem to be growing well and are forming nice bulbs.

Shallots - First time growing these and cooking for that matter! Not sure what good or bad is on these but they seem to be looking healthy. If anyone has any good vegan/Vegetarian recipes for these please share = D

Brassica Cage - Under the blue meeting is Red Cabbage and I think Cauliflower however I am having difficulty remembering. I will have to see if a White or a Green tree grows.

Dwarf Beans - I have sown 2 varieties Purple and Yellow, these did really well last year and I hope to successionally plan these throughout the coming months.

Kale - I have recently sown some Nero di Toscana Kale, I love eating this! Goes so well with Potato and Kale soup. First time growing,so fingers crossed!

Chard - I love the colour of chard and its vibrancy however I must admit I don't like the taste! Volunteers for an abundance of Chard will be required over the coming months.

Beetroot - This is a mix of Beetroot I have sown directly to the ground, some modules from Stu and some leftover plants that my friends ran out of space for.

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.55.48 (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.49.23 (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.49.23.jpeg

Bed 2

Garlic - Tuscany White Variety these should be ready in a few weeks time. We are set for a lot of rain and this should be their last water.

Red Iceberg Lettuce
I sowed these Seeds and have covered with some some weed membrane to kick start germination. Need to remove this tonight.

Parsnips
No sign of life decided these are a non starter. They take 3 weeks to germinate and I swear it must be nearer 5.

Potatos
Some planted Potatos and some rogue potatoes that I haven't fully pulled up last year. I have no idea on the varieties on these.

20210610_184753.jpg

Bed 3

The Three Sisters, Since my last post on this some more plants have gone in. The climbing bean structures have been added, these were kindly given to me from Stuart.

In the last image in this section you can see the Barlotti beans coming through which will eventually climbed up the corn.

Squashes - Yellow Pettypan style Squash? Never grown before but bought from the local Garden Centre. I think I have 6 of these.

Cucumbers- Mini Munchin Variety, I have grown these for a number of years. I really enjoy the size of these. Just enough for just to eat.

Sweetcorn - There are 3 different types of corn in the 3 sisters variety. I have never grown corn before. I thought I have killed them many times but somehow they continue to live on.

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.49.24 (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.49.24.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.49.23 (4).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.49.23 (3).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.49.23 (2).jpeg

Bed 4

Courgette Alley - Mixture of Green and Yellow varieties. Some were grown by Stuart and some this year were shop bought because I lost my Courgette seeds and then they didnt germinate.

Pumpkins - These were grown from seeds from last yeard Halloween pumpkins.

Winter Squash - I grew these last year. I really enjoyed growing this variety last year. It had a really dark colour skin and bright orange flesh.

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 23.27.42.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.55.47.jpeg

Something Extra

Rhubarb Outtake Photos ha ha!

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.55.47 (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-14 at 19.55.48.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency